We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in town”
Review of Super 8 Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Ithaca
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Not sure how prior folks had bad experiences, but this motel impressed me considerably. Certainly, the photos of the hotel posted on this site is wrong; get the real pictures at super8.com. Location is excellent---central to just about everything. Breakfast was great. Wireless internet in the room works just fine (there is also a terminal in the lobby). Hotel was clean and check-in/check-out was fast and courteous. Treadmill in the exercise room was broken, but that didn't really matter for us. There is no elevator to the second floor, so that's the only downside of the hotel design that I can think of. Would definitely choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cparke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 772 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

The room was clean, quiet, and there was easy access to restaurants, the commons, and cornell university. I stayed for five days. For a no-frills hotel it is very good.

The one negative thing is that housekeeping forgot to clean my room one day. When I reported it, the guy at the desk issued several profuse apologies and made sure that I immediately received clean towels and coffee. The hotel staff was good.

If you are picky about cigarette smoke, the halls have a slight smoky scent.

I Highly recommend it for a budget stay.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
Thank philosopher_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Having to use a work related website to chose hotels, I was a bit skeptical about the Super 8. However, upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby was small yet quaint and a pleasant staff to register you. The hotel didn't have a musty or dampness to it either. The room was very clean and fresh and had a refrigerator and microwave, the continental breakfast was more than adequate. I would defintely recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcf4972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Was happy to find this rate for a motel in Ithaca - it's so expensive to stay there! Saw some positive reviews on Tripadivsor when I booked it and was even more encouraged. Unfortunately, I have to say, I agree more with the recent reviews (Aug 2009) which are not as favorable. The hallways smelled awful of deodorizer - the kind used to cover up a similarly awful smell. The room smelled just as bad - but different. Carpets were grimy. Bathrooms were as clean as they could be, given the condition they were in. The room we stayed in offered a good bit of highway noise - so leaving the windows open to address the smell wasn't really an option. I would never complain about a free breakfast - especially with kids to feed, so I'll just give you the facts there...4 kinds of cold cereal, instant oatmeal, bagels, cellophane wrapped pastries, green bananas, toaster ready french toast with syrup, juice, coffee, tea and milk. The staff at the hotel was very nice and accomodating. They didn't have any cribs available the first night when we arrived (it was late) but they found us one for the second 2 nights. The location was great and, as mentioned, the price was right. You get what you pay for!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank monsterclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Nice Stay. Location not that great but not too far from the universities and park. Clean rooms. Okay continental breakfast. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnceBittenNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

So my daughter is going to Cornell, and we were looking for an inexpensive hotel to stay at when we dropped her off. (We are from out of state) First, I never thought I would pay what I paid for a Super 8, but the others were more.

The carpet was grimy. I didn't want to walk barefooted in my room. The bathroom was dimly lit and the shower had black mold around the edges. I choose not to shower.

The blond haired young woman we met when we checked in was not overly personable, (though the young guy doing his masters who came on later was great!). the next disappointment was breakfast. Toast, bagels, pastry in a bag and some defrosted french toast. Just felt like I paid a lot for getting to stay in Ithaca. (I could be worse, but it wasn't cheap)

Parents weekend is already pretty booked, (and the rates are much higher 142.00 a night) but I am going to fork out close to double the price to stay at the Country Inn and Suites. It still has availability, and with a clean room, a pool and their well-known ample breakfast, I won't have to drive around town finding something to do, just to avoid going back to my Super 8 hotel room.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank zimarme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

interior hallways stank of cigarette smoke even in the non-smoking section of the building. The room (non-smoking) was heavily de-odorized, we have to keep the window wide open all night. The single employee did his best, but we were not happy.
Interesting that it was the same price as the Best Western in Batavia NY which was at least 1.5 stars better. I guess the finger lakes area carries a premium.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Pickering_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#18 of 22 in Ithaca
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
225 reviews
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western University Inn
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ithaca

Address: 400 S Meadow St, Cecil A. Malone Drive at Route 13, Ithaca, NY 14850-5218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#8 Family Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: $82 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ithaca 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Super 8 of Ithaca is located conveniently off of Route 13 in Downtown Ithaca, right next door to Wegmans. We offer free wireless internet, complimentary continental breakfast and free on site parking. All of our rooms include refrigerators and microwaves, (with the exception of the handicap accessible), flat screen TV's, new mattresses and updated linen. We are a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute drive to the Ithaca Commons. We are within a 5-10 minute drive to both Ithaca College and Cornell University. And within close proximity to the area's beautiful Gorges! We look forward to having you stay with us at the Super 8 Ithaca! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Super Eight Ithaca
Ithaca Super 8
Ithaca Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing