We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic panini!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Collegetown Bagels

Collegetown Bagels
Ranked #16 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: High quality, unique sandwich options for every palette. With three locations in Ithaca, NY CTB has become an Ithaca institution. Many gluten-free, vegan, and vegetarian options available. Fair-trade coffee, sustainable business practices, and fun bustling atmosphere. Friendly staff and fast service, CTB has everything you need for an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. See you soon!
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic panini!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I've been getting lunch from CTB in East Hill Plaza at least once a week for almost three years... which should tell you that it is in general an excellent place for lunch. The staff are always fast, efficient, and friendly and the food is consistently excellent. There is a huge range of food choices, even for vegetarians (like me).

Today I just had a Sherwood panini, which is why I had to write a review... it was incredible!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Art-2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    66
    23
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“CTB - Fast and Fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great coffees, teas, bagels and sandwiches, as well as delicious pastries to go. Service is fast and friendly

Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Level Contributor
472 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Good food and a great crowd. Very crowded on weekends. We have only been to the downtown store there is another next to the Cornell Campus. A nice place to sit, relax and have a coffee or tea and a bagel or some lunch.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank msmacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They forgot the lox!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I stopped in to Collegetown Bagels on a Sunday morning on our way to ski at Greek Peak in Cortland. The atmosphere is cool and the menu is extensive. I ordered a sesame bagel with veggie cream cheese - nothing fancy, but it was toasted perfectly and had just the right amount of cream cheese on it. Really good. My husband ordered an everything bagel with cream cheese, lox, tomato, lettuce, and onion. We took our orders to go to eat on our drive to the ski resort. When he opened his box in the car and took a bite, he discovered there was no lox - they forgot to put it on! He was really disappointed and we were annoyed we'd paid for something we didn't get. We probably should've checked our order before we left, but it was 7:30 am on a Sunday, so it was not busy at all and there were plenty of staff on hand.

One other thing - it's pricey. We paid $20 for the bagel w/ cream cheese, bagel with lox, 2 lattes, and 2 bananas.

We'd try Collegetown Bagels again, but really guys - how can you forget the lox?! I had to take my review down a few notches to account for that, otherwise I would've rated it a 5/5.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must have the experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is an old college eatery. Back in early 80's it was a counter with bagel maker in the back. Now a restaurant, but retains that college experience even though you don't the huge bagel smothered in cream cheese that used to sustain a student for a day anymore.
The menu has something for every taste, excellent quick food.
Sit outside if you can, and enjoy the scenery and dynamics of Cornell's main gate right next to it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank izzysanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collegetown Bagels also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Collegetown Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing