We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Adjust Your Expectations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
DC Region
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Adjust Your Expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We looked hard for a decent place to stay but apparently the first weekend in October is a busy one in greater Ithaca, so, despite some negative reviews on this site, we went with the Rodeway.
First of all, this is an old fashioned MO-tel, where you pull your car up to the door of your room; though in this ase we backed up as there was a great puddle some six feet in diameter covering the parking space (my wife joked about the "lakefront" room) .
The room itself was shabby but reasonably clean. It offered a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and board. The bathroom was small (so small the bathroom door had been cut so it could close without hitting the toilet.
There was a working shower, though the controls were a challenge.

We didn't end up using any of the appliances; however when my wife prepared to shower, she noticed that the Rodeway had provided shampoo but no conditioner. She went to the "office" to ask for some and was told that the shampoo also contained conditioner.This information was, at best, mistaken and resulted in a drive into Ithaca to purchase some actual hair conditioner.
A minor inconvenience perhaps, but reflective of the establishment and its concern for the comfort and well being of its guests.

The bed was not particularly comfortable but adequate and we spent a quiet night at the Rodeway. It could have been worse but If we ever need to stay in Ithaca again, we'll hunt even harder for a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlSloaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    25
    11
    26
See reviews for
38
23
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Musty times ten and damp. Stayed when it was raining out..but the room, (in my opinion) took a long time to become that musty. Disrepair and not clean. I should have been paid to stay there. We booked through expedia but could have paid $40 less if we had called the hotel.

Room Tip: When no other rooms in the town, sleep in your car or go to another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank masajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two night, the room was clean and comfortable. It had a fridge, tv, next to door parking and breakfast. The breakfast itself is not great but is enough to get you started. The location is tight out of Ithaca so a lot of nature around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
375 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed just the one night based on dollar value and previous Travel Adviser comments. The Rodeway Inn’s outside appearance harkens back to another decade and can be a little deflating at first blush. However, the Wi-Fi equipped room was quite adequate, clean and more updated than the outside might suggest, offering a TV [not flat screen], microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, and hair dryer. My wife was pleased with the ironing board & iron. The small bathroom has a shower only. Breakfast was basic but adequate. The staff was the bonus – helpful, pro-active and friendly. The hand-written bedside envelope for tips made us smile. A satisfactory place to rest your head for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connoisseur-of-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just OK for a few days. Good low price. We didn't try the breakfast but preferred to drive to Wegman's for good coffee, muffins and yogurt. I'm particular about pillows and wish I'd taken my own.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Outoftowner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the motel for two nights. The accomodations were modest in appearance but the staff was just great. For a college town the rates were very reasonable. The motel location is just south of the city, and so it was not a walkable location for access to restaurants but everything was minutes away by car or bicycle. The room was well equipped and very adequate for our needs.The breakfast was more than continental and included waffles and eggs along with muffins. The motel and its staff were a great find for us, and we expect to returning on our visits to the city campuses in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Extraordinarily helpful staff even when canceling 2 nights. Even made the waffles for us for breakfast. Low price compared to other Ithaca properties. Facility is somewhat worn but everything is in perfect repair. Approximately, 2-miles from town was slightly inconvenience for us bicycle tourists but shouldn't be any problem for motorists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.8 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#13 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 654 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-8745 (Formerly Wonderland Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Ithaca
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Wonderland Hotel
Rodeway Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing