We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An update”
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Ithaca
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Buffalo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An update”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I first stayed here in May of last year and my review is posted for that period. Since then I have stayed twice more this year including last week and want to add a couple more observations. First while the location is nice in terms of being in the middle of town with movie and performing theaters, bars, restuarants, banks, transportation center, dirt mall etc there is a significant amount of street people that tend to hang out near the hotel grounds and sometimes on as well. Cayuga st kind of has an interestinv turnover of people at night. There is a security guy Jay who keeps an eye on things. Second the first floor rooms are just fine. Really need in room fridge however and easier access to ice machine. As far as being over priced if you can't book a room here for 60bux on a travel site look harder. They really push the bar/restaurant Maxs on ya. Don't remember the place being that overpriced when I stayed last year. Maybe they were trying to keep out the street people who seemed to inhabit it the first time I stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsar811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear tsar811,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    138
    124
    89
    71
See reviews for
155
113
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston area
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a very nice Holiday Inn, with courteous and helpful staff. They provided directions, assistance in the computer center, shuttle service to Cornell and there was even a very nice Manager's Reception in the lobby, serving appetizers on Friday evening. My family enjoyed the pool and fitness center. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ithaca.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was able to get a walk in on the busiest weekend, with discount from rack rate. Best is to stay in the tower, the rooms are a bit smaller in the older 2-story section. Clean and well maintained, helpful staff. Good fresh coffee in the morning, but no breakfast. On the other hand, you are just a few minutes walk from many great eateries. Good location near State Street mall, access to highways, few minutes drive to university.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower if you can, further up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I booked our reservation through Hotwire, so we didn't know which hotel we were getting. Once booked, I read other reviews and was a little concerned about staying here for two nights. I read that the main building rooms were not great, and the noise level was a concern due to the parking lot and proximity to the main street, and also due to parties that would take place often.

But we stayed there on a Tuesday and Wednesday evening, and we had a great experience. I called and inquired about the rooms a few days before we arrived and the staff person told us that usually when you book through Hotwire or any other third party site you're automatically placed in the main building, not the Tower rooms. So we didn't make a big deal - just figured we'd make the most of it. I just casually inquired about this again when we checked in and the hotel rep said that it was not busy that week, so he upgraded us to the Tower rooms without making us pay extra (we had gotten a deal due to booking through Hotwire). It was a great! We loved the location - walked to stores, restaurants, etc. It's very close to Cornell University, and easy access to numerous state parks if you like to hike.

There was enough space in the parking lot - there's additional parking as well, so it was not a problem. But again, we were there during the week so it was not busy. It was very comfortable and peaceful. The staff was great, location was perfect.

I can't recommend the main building since I didn't stay there, but if you get the Tower rooms I'm sure you'll have a wonderful experience :-)

Room Tip: Request the Tower rooms if you're booking directly through the hotel. If you're booking fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate that you were able to take the time to review our hotel and are happy that we had the availability to upgrade you and your husband upon checkin. Hopefully if you are back in the Ithaca area again we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After making our reservations on Hotwire I read reviews and was a not concerned about how mixed they were. Our room was clean and comfortable. While the bathroom was a bit dated everything worked as it should. The room felt damp but that could have been due to the rainy weather. The one complaint--- the bed pillows were small.
The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful.
Overall a pleasant experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of your pleasant stay with us at the Holiday Inn- Ithaca Downtown. The pillows are a Holiday Inn standard so unfortunately this is something we are not able to change. We are however glad you were able to enjoy our wonderful staff and comfortable rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Well, it's a Holiday Inn in upstate New York, so I didn't expect much from this hotel, but if this hotel intends to continue charging so much during the busy season, they need to make a LOT of improvements- starting with the front desk. The man who checked us in seemed to be way over his head with our simple check in! He had to ask his colleague which "button to press" before he began checking us in, and did not know how to input a priority club number. However, once he figured out how to do this, we were greeted with bottled water and Finger Lakes wine (nice touch, quite unexpected).

Our room, which was down a winding hallway, left much to be desired. The bathroom was small, floors were dirty (housekeeper did not care to pick up the hershey's kisses wrappers!), and the window crank did not even work. Thankfully some of the members in my party were able to close it by hand, but it was very unsafe for a second floor street-facing room. On that note, the parking lot could use some cameras (did not see any) as it street level in a downtown location.

The large fridge was a nice amenity, and the beds weren't so bad, but I expected a lot more.

Have also stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn here in Ithaca, and would recommend staying there instead though it's in a comparable class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookfieldd1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear brookfieldd1976,

Thank you for staying with us and for being an IHG Rewards Club member. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

location is great (see review below)
does have a sort of motel feeli8ng to it; not all that attractive, buf definately OK.
parking lot does fill up, but street parking is free at night. if the elevatio is an issue
for you (see below), as it was for us- get a room on the first floor (or in the tower)
water pressure, TV, all OK

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear FAMILY44444,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is good to know you like our great location. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the elevator service. I have shared your comments with the appropriate department to improve in the future. Our goal is to make our guest's experience enjoyable.

Again, I am sorry that you were disappointed in your experience at our hotel. We hope to provide you with better service in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
1.1 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Property: The Hotel Ithaca
Address: 222 S Cayuga St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5510 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing