We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced, felt like a motel”
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Ithaca
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed August 8, 2013

with limited hotel availablilities in the area we were stuck at this Holiday Inn over our usual choices. stayed in the ground floor wing which felt like a motel.

room wasn't ready for check in and was damp, wing was loud due to being adjacent to banquet halls, fitness equipment was a bit wonky.

hotel restaurant was weak - we shouldn't have opted into the $10 breakfast deal. plenty of great restaurants within blocks.

free parking was a bonus.

hey Ithaca tourism board, how about getting more hotels in the area for some better options/rates!

Room Tip: go for the tower, avoid the ground floor wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xshawnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Shawn S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Your comments about the room conditions have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 515 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Funky hotel....no elevator to second floor, filth (stagnant chocolate milk?) in ice bucket, and stale smell in room. For $200 plus per night, I expected something a little better.

MEH, but it was the only room available in town.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Sallad13,

Thank you for your taking the time to evaluate our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with the unusual smell, elevator services and issues encountered with the ice bucket. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate department.

We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Visiting Ithaca on business, and needing a hotel, the Holiday Inn looked as good as any. It probably wasn't, but it was OK. It's hard to put my finger on it, and as a TripAdvisor reviewer perhaps I ought to be able to, but there was something about it that gave me the feeling that I could have stayed somewhere better. The rooms weren't dirty, at all, but there was no sparkle, either. Same for the service - it was there, but not overly so. I'm not usually interested in the decor of a hotel, but this one did stand out as being in need of a makeover.

So it does what it's supposed to do, provide a quiet night's sleep, but it doesn't go out of its way to get you there or keep you coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Jeff P,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. I apologize you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations and the service you received during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting Cornell. Location was great but service was horrible. Scolded at check in because they only have room available after 4pm, price is extremely overpriced ($200 per nite for bare basic room), and on my second day they do not even clean up my room! After complaining to the front desk they apologized and brought in towels and soaps, but still I don't think that compensate for the fact that the housekeeper skipped my room. Not recommended and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our standard check in time is at 4pm, I apologize that this was not told to you in a way that was acceptable. We try our best to have rooms available before 4pm, sometimes this is just not possible. Housekeeping has been made aware of the mistake of your room not being cleaned and the housekeeper has been spoken to. I hope you were able to enjoy our downtown location and what it has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Went there for our second half of our summer vacation to relax and see the sights in ithaca stayed four nights. My boyfriend used his rewards points from Marriott. Amounting to 850$ worth of rewards! (Or so they say. Seems a little steep for a holiday inn!!!) got to the hotel and was severely disappointed that our room was in the old/motel portion of the hotel. The hallways were alteast 95 degrees and humid. You couldn't open your window because there was a hallway outside of it! It was like living in a cave for four days! Shower was moldy/ rusty. Asked for a new room and was given the same room just one floor up. Apparently your rewards points are not worthy of a normal quality room at the holiday inn. Went to speak to the front desk about getting a map and was ignored for about 10 minutes. pool was closed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear K914,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you had in our hotel and if your room condition fell below your standards. This is definitely not up to our standards as we always strive to provide the best guest experience. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

After booking my room, as a GOLD level rewards member for Holiday Inn, I was a little taken back when placed in the back of the hotel in what reminded us of a closet. First impression was it was clean, that is the best I can say about it. No globe on the light fixture in the bathroom, don't close the bathroom door too hard, it sticks and you could hardly get out. Toilet would not stop running until maintenance fixed it, light bulb out in one of the lights next to the bed. Got up in the middle of the night the light over the chair in the room was flashing, for no unknown reason.
Last time we stayed in same hotel, we were keep up two nights in a row with college kids partying until the early morning, guess I have learned my lesson this time, will NOT return, especially for the high price, had a much better room at Super 8 in Ithaca.
One other good part, Max's was a nice resturant and a good value.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel stay in the tower building, good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ByronS564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear ByronS564,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for leaving us a feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to help us continually improve our guests services.

I am disappointed to hear that your experience failed to exceed or at least meet your expectations. I humbly extend an apology for the shortfalls in your room and for the inconvenience this has caused you. As an elite member, we deeply regret the the we have failed to deliver the highest level of service and customer care that you deserve.

Your comments are very important as we rely on you, our valued guest to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your patronage and support to our hotel are very important, as such, these issues will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be and allow us to redeem your faith in the quality of our guest services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location is very good: right down town near the commons. Accommodations are very average. The rooms in the "Tower" seem slightly nicer than the rooms in the "Main Building." We were stuck in the main building, on a second floor without elevator access, looking out on a busy street. The cover on the air conditioner was broken and hanging on the floor and the tub was covered with hair. The hallway was pretty decrepit and, weirdly, there were open electricity access panels every 15 feet or so.

The staff was very helpful and we did sleep well. But on the whole we were pretty disappointed with this hotel. Next time we might pay extra and stay at the Hilton Garden Inn which is a couple blocks away.

Room Tip: Try room in "Tower" not "Main Building"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RochesterNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear RochesterNYTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the room conditions that did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the air conditioner has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Address: 222 S Cayuga St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5510 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range: $142 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing