We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Beautiful, one-of-a-kind location. I have stayed here 4 times over the past 20 years and I will continue to return. A major plus: the last time we stayed at La Tourelle, they were offering complimentary wine tasting every day from 4 PM to 6 PM. A great accommodation to take advantage of before heading out for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    126
    30
    26
    9
See reviews for
101
229
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

For the past 5 years we have ventured there for Christmas occasions and each and every time the meal and the atmosphere is great with a roaring fire in the hearth in the main lobby. I admit that the price to stay there, visit the spa or have a dinner is not the cheapest but the quality is excellent and well worth the price. The location is close to downtown Ithaca and Cornell University and located just above Ithaca College. The hotel part needs updating in decor as do the rooms but remember it has a French Chateau look.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My sister and I stayed here during a visit to the Finger Lakes for my 50th birthday. We had a spacious although a little dated room. Very clean and well maintained, though. Service was great. We both had wonderful spa treatments and enjoyed delicious breakfasts and lunches. Close to downtown Ithaca with great shopping and dining. On the grounds they have great hiking trails with beautiful scenery. If you hike all the way down the trail, they will pick you up at the end if you are too worn out to hike back up. Well worth the trip here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My sister and I needed a spa weekend and chose this place because she lives in Rochester and I live in philly so it was convenient for both. The rooms were beautiful with fireplaces. The food in the resort was delicious and accommodations were made for our dietary restrictions. We enjoyed our spa experience immensely, especially the reiki. Will stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebajane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at La Tourelle after taking our son back to Cornell. The reviews in TA were glowing. I'm not sure why. Looks very promising from the outside…big and kind of French Chateau-y. But step inside and you're not sure where you are. The lobby is tired and dreary and institutional looking. I asked the receptionist what the hotel used to be thinking it must have been a convent or a set from Cuckoo's Nest. The furniture is Goodwill and the only saving grace is the honor bar and a couple of hundred State Theatre posters mercifully covering most of the dreary pink walls. The room, a king with fireplace, was even worse. What's the French word I'm looking for? Not chic..CHEAP. That's it, cheap. Everything from the ugly rec room doors used throughout, to the bad art to the horrible frilly ceiling fan to the tiny end tables you had to get on your hands and knees to reach, to the useless uncomfortable chairs to the bathroom screaming for a redo to just about every stick of furniture and thread bare throw rugs shouted cheap. The only thing not cheap (beside the price) were the curtains. If you've been wondering what happened to the Munster's old drapes, you need not anymore. They were in our room! If you laid in the bed just right, you could get a good sense of what your funeral will be like.
In the room, there is a lot of reading material about the founder and builder of the place. A hotelier, world traveler, novelist (his books are available in the lobby) and raconteur of note. I will assume he had nothing to do with the design and decoration of this mess.
If it wasn't for the friendly staff, honor bar, and great Steak House on the grounds and the fact we only stayed one night, I wouldn't have been so kind.

Room Tip: Ask for the west wing. It's newer and might not suffer from a case of the 80's (when the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Rooms very very clean!!
Service at front desk nice
Glass of wine nice
Luxurious rooms and bathrooms with tubs very relaxing
Would return if in area again
Did not use spa services as booked up but the room was great!! Comfy cozy fire place

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemango4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have celebrated special occasions here several times . Each one gets better.Everything from the cozy lobby to the quest rooms are sweet serentity.. Much Thanks to Scott who was awesome.Dont miss out you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.3 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.7 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa

Property: La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Address: 1150 Danby Rd, Route 96B, Ithaca, NY 14850-9406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#8 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a getaway that offers deluxe accommodations; fabulous food; great wine; a destination spa and adventure experiences all nestled in the gorgeous New York Finger Lakes wine region, you've found it! La Tourelle's 54 deluxe rooms have dreamy pillow-top mattresses to ensure a restful night's sleep. You'll need that sleep if you plan on touring the wine trails; visiting the museums; taking a hike in any of five state parks, or participating in the numerous adventure excursions available in "gorges" Ithaca. After experiencing all that Finger Lakes wine country has to offer, you'll really appreciate getting pampered at August Moon Spa. We offer all the services you expect from a destination spa, plus we have two Tranquility Rooms where you can relax and enjoy cuisine from our "farm-to-table" menu at The Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tourelle Hotel Ithaca
La Tourelle Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing