We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We went to La Tourelle in mid-June. My main concern was being able to set the room’s thermostat below 65 degrees Fahrenheit. Neither the Courtyard Marriott, Hampton Inn, nor the Statler Hotel met this need. La Tourelle has a recent addition in which the air conditioner’s thermostat was capable of being adjusted to the temperature I requested. The rates during this season were comparable to the Courtyard’s and the Hampton’s, although I consider the ambiance surrounding and within La Tourelle to be higher quality. The staff were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 556 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2008

This was a sad experience. Personnel was great, the location was great, but the rooms were outdated and the beds were uncomfortable. In addition, the spa downstairs, which I thought would be wonderful, was overpriced to say the least. When you are staying at place that you think is upscale, yet the steam room is covered in mildew and there are watermarks on the ceiling and peeling paint, it is disappointing to say the least. Not to mention that I had a conversation with someone downtown who was familiar with the area that informed me of their terrible employee practices! How sad.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank milkmaidCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

I booked the Tower room at Latourelle in the hopes of staying in a room with an exceptionally romantic atmosphere as described on their webiste. I was alittle apprehensive because there was not a photo but the other rooms looked beautiful so I thought this would hold true for their most romantic room.

The description of the Tower room is very very misleading. The bedding was a simple cotton navy blue comforter with basic pillow shams nothing special or elegant just basic. However, I must admit the mattress itself was very comfortable; The website boosts about the carpet being plush on your feet - it was berber - nothing plush about it; the room has a mirrored ceiling which was fine, however, they ought to fill in the holes in the ceiling when they removed the accent lighting which left about 5 saucer size holes in the ceiling with wires hanging out...maybe to compliment the mirrors? very tacty. They also emphazie the jacuzzi tub as adding to the romance of the room but they fail to mention that it's the size of your bathtub at home just a few iches longer so a 6 ft person can stretch out, however, two people could hurt themselves trying to squeeze into it. Additionally there is no dresser, small table or any place to set things on other than a small circular coffee table so when you'd like to pour a drink or do anything else you either have to sit on the floor or bend over...not attractive and uncomfortable

On a better note, the staff at LaTourelle were pleasant and the food and service at the John Thomas steakhouse located just across the parking lot was fantastic and helped to over shadow the seriously flawed room. I imagine this is why there is no photo on the website. The other rooms might be nice but stay away from the Tower...very disappointing to say the least.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank clt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

If you love romance and relaxation, this is the place to stay while in the Finger Lakes Region.
The yellow Barn Suite is incredible, although the luxurious leather sofa is not made for cuddling while you sit by the fire with a signifigant other or try to watch a movie on the state of the art projection tv system. Instead I suggest the plush king bed in the loft area. Sumptuious bedding and rich color envelops you while upstairs, making it a perfect romantic getaway. This suite is also perfect for a girls weekend getaway since it has 2 bedrooms in the loft area with a full kitchen. Beware there is only one bathroom, ladies. (Although it is a nice sized facility).
The John Thomas Steak House was FABULOUS! If you love a perfect steak and attentive personnel, then you MUST at least go to dine if not staying at the resort. Heather, I hope to see that fountain in full swing when I return!
Scott, the owner, was the most hospitable and generous man I have met. He is so very genuine and personable, and if it weren't for the fact I LOVED the facility, I would return just to have dinner and drinks with him again!
The cafe is quaint and charming and breakfast was served in a flash. A delicious treat since i never eat breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lttlvixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

My wife and I stayed at La Tourelle Resort and Spa over the Thanksgiving weekend.
Located off Rt 96B, La Tourelle is a beautiful property with tons of charm and lots of class. Day or night, the grounds really sparkle.

Check-in: The check in process was very simple and professional. We were welcomed by a staff member with lots of knowledge and expertise. note: Many local hotel staff members attended or are attending Cornell University's Hotel Administration School. This makes a big difference in quality of service. The hotel was very vacant. Cornell U and Ithaca College students were on Thanksgiving break which normally contribute about 30,000 people to Tompkins County.

Lobby: Very bright and clean. Filled with plenty of seating including a fireplace and small workstation with free high speed internet on a desktop PC. The lobby area does have free wifi too according to the staff. Next to the check-in desk guests can help themselves to complimentary tea, coffee and fresh cookies anytime of the day or night. It really adds a nice touch to ambiance. The resort offers a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour everyday from about 5-6pm.

Room: Our room was located on the first level of the resort. Very stately, clean and spacious. Our view was really nice. The room overlooked the rear/side of property with unobstructed views of local farm land far off in the distance of the valley. The bed was very comfortable to say the least. The room had a very nice refrigerator/freezer for convenience. A microwave is also available down the hall. The TV is of nice quality with a good selection of cable channels. The bathroom is very large with a dual head shower and window. We really appreciated housekeeping's little touch by dropping off a fresh basket of towel,etc outside our door even though we had placed the "DO Not Disturb" sign on the door.

Parking: Free and plenty of it.

Dining: The Resort offers a very nice buffet breakfast(not free) in the bar/cafe area. The food was very fresh and tasty.
Adjacent to the resort is the John Thomas Steakhouse. John Thomas is an excellent restaurant with superb food. The atmosphere is very warm and inviting. The food hasn't changed a bit in over ten years since my last visit to Ithaca only the prices. The prices are typical high end steakhouse prices, just a little high for Ithaca, NY but it saves you the drive to Rochester, Syracuse or NYC for a solid steakhouse experience.

All in all we highly recommend La Tourelle for first class accomodations in Ithaca, NY. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CACarlsbadkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed at La Tourelle during parent's weekend at Cornell, and although about 15 minutes from the campus, it was well worth the drive. The setting is lovely, and the hotel looks like an inn in the French countryside. It is particularly lovely when lit up at night.

The rooms are large and quite comfy. The bed was a pillowtop type bed and really felt great after walking the campus all day. The bathroom was a little dated, but clean, and with nice soaps. Large t.v. with good cable options.

I'm still a little puzzled about the mix of Polynesian wood carvings with the country French decor, but whatever floats their boat.

The lobby also has a computer available to guests, which came in quite handy. Good coffee, tea and cookies as well.

We didn't have a chance to enjoy the small hotel restaurant and honor bar, but it seemed to be quite popular. We also didn't eat at the adjacent steak house, but it seemed to be busy, and with downtown Ithaca restaurants impacted by large crowds, I think we will make a reservation and try it next time.

Now the spa. What a huge surprise this was. I was expecting a small operation with an ok atmosphere, but think again! This is a truly wonderful spa, and even if you don't stay at La Tourelle, try the spa. It is luxurious and has first class amenities like a waterfall room or a fireplace room to relax before and after treatments. I had a very good massage, and my daughter said she had the best facial she has ever had. In Ithaca? Yup!

So, I would recommend La Tourelle if you don't mind the drive, or if you are there for reasons other than those college related, like wine tasting.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MarinMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

I stayed at La Tourelle for a business trip to Cornell University. The hotel is very nice; the staff extremely nice and helpful. I asked for a complimentary upgrade and received it. The king bed was so comfortable and the bath was nice and the fireplace was warm. Everything about the room was wonderful. My only complaint is the location. If you stay at La Tourelle you must have a car. Taxis are few and far between in Ithaca and very expensive. There is nothing within walking distance of the resort.
Other than the location the hotel was terrific!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cgbm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
716 reviews
2.7 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#12 of 22 in Ithaca
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ithaca, NY
2.6 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa

Address: 1150 Danby Rd, Route 96B, Ithaca, NY 14850-9406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#8 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: $134 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a getaway that offers deluxe accommodations; fabulous food; great wine; a destination spa and adventure experiences all nestled in the gorgeous New York Finger Lakes wine region, you've found it! La Tourelle's 54 deluxe rooms have dreamy pillow-top mattresses to ensure a restful night's sleep. You'll need that sleep if you plan on touring the wine trails; visiting the museums; taking a hike in any of the five state parks, or participating in the numerous adventure excursions available in "gorges" Ithaca. After experiencing all that Finger Lakes wine country has to offer, you'll really appreciate getting pampered at August Moon Spa. We offer all the services you expect from a destination spa, plus we have two Tranquility Rooms where you can relax and enjoy cuisine from our "farm-to-table" menu at The Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tourelle Hotel Ithaca
La Tourelle Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing