We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent two nights here, and had a lovely time despite lots of rain. Our room (128) was on the first floor on a corner. The bed was large and comfortable and there was lots of space in the room so you never felt crowded. Free wifi worked really well. The chairs in the room were not particularly comfortable reading chairs, but the lobby area had lovely sofas and chairs for reading, morning coffee (some of the best I've ever had) and afternoon wine. The gardens were wonderful, and we wished the weather would have allowed us to walk around outside more. Such a nice change from chain hotels!
The spa was great, too (had a top notch massage!), and hotel guests could use the steam room, sauna, and tranquility rooms for free.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aepm3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    126
    30
    26
    9
See reviews for
105
231
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to ithaca for the night to relax and celebrate his birthday. The first room we looked at was room #400 the 2nd floor round room in the small tower...they did say it was unique... And it was but in a dirty 80's porno type of way. We didn't even set our bags down before we went back and asked for another room. Thank GOD we did.... What a difference. The king bed room was clean and spacious. We enjoyed the comfortable large bed!
We went hiking at buttermilk falls but after getting attacked by tons of bugs we decided to drive there instead of walk on the trail behind the resort. We had planned on going to the spa but there were no treatments available that evening. Happy hour 5-6 was really nice in the lobby! For dinner we went to John Thomas Steakhouse... Good... A little overpriced but very nice and worth it that you can walk from the hotel! The next am we had breakfast at the bistro... Food was great!

Overall we really enjoyed our trip and would love make it back to La Tourelle.... Next time we will be sure to take advantage of the spa and will make sure to get another king room maybe a fireplace suite next time!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the "romantic" tower rooms! They are dirty and creepy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Time-to-eat-lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The negatives first.
We rented the suite-it was not as big as we expected. Small sitting area.
The bed was soft so our backs hurt the next day. Average bedding. Not enough pillows.
Very small dresser and closet so not much space for your clothes.

Positives.
Good location. Tiny bar in lobby (4 seats) that has wine tasting every night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erinaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Choices for Ithaca vacations include a variety of hotels in and around the city, or this charming country hotel 5 mins from downtown. The bathrooms are starting to show their age, but some have jacuzzi tubs that make up for it. Room 130 was enormous - two king beds as well as tables and small loveseats. The best pillows on the beds! Coffee and tea are always available in the lobby, and there is a wine tasting every evening. Don't miss breakfast! At first glance it seems pricey, but the food is delicious and well-priced for everything that is included. Staff are wonderful. Massages at the spa are tops - ask for Kate. The hotel is close to Buttermilk Falls - but get the detailed info on trails before you go from someone who is knowledgeable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBLanghorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a unique place to spend a couple days ,,,,,it has a neat history ,,,we sat and relaxed in the lounge ,,,,by the fire,,,,wine tasting everyday ,,,pour n sign style small area in lobby ,,,food was great in the cafe ,,,best Bloody Mary I've had in years ,,also the steak house on the premises (Jim's) ? ....when your done ready to walk the grounds grab an apple ,,,,,from the basket because right out the door ,,,,there was a deer in the dark on the lawn ,,,,a couple ponds ,,,bullfrogs , gazebo,,,,, we played chess on the board outside,,,,jumbo king sized cement playing area ,,,it was fun ,,,,! Over all a great stay
Brownell

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed in many resorts near and far (domestic and abroad) and La Tourelle is a gem right in our own backyard! The tranquility at the resort, quality of food and service was top notch.
The bed! The dual shower head! The spa! The food! AMAZING!!!!!
Far exceeded my expectations!
Well done folks...I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everyone here was as kind and hospitable as can be. We had a great time at the hotel during our three-night stay. The happy hour tour of local wine was fun and informative. The grounds are beautiful, too. Our family stayed in two adjoining rooms, each with very different and distinctive decor but both very comfortable and easy to relax in. If you stay, do yourself a favor and have breakfast at the bistro. It was probably the best meal of our week-long trip.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the valley. It's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyMarkI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.3 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa

Property: La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Address: 1150 Danby Rd, Route 96B, Ithaca, NY 14850-9406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#8 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a getaway that offers deluxe accommodations; fabulous food; great wine; a destination spa and adventure experiences all nestled in the gorgeous New York Finger Lakes wine region, you've found it! La Tourelle's 54 deluxe rooms have dreamy pillow-top mattresses to ensure a restful night's sleep. You'll need that sleep if you plan on touring the wine trails; visiting the museums; taking a hike in any of five state parks, or participating in the numerous adventure excursions available in "gorges" Ithaca. After experiencing all that Finger Lakes wine country has to offer, you'll really appreciate getting pampered at August Moon Spa. We offer all the services you expect from a destination spa, plus we have two Tranquility Rooms where you can relax and enjoy cuisine from our "farm-to-table" menu at The Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tourelle Resort And Spa
La Tourelle Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing