We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, feels like staying in a castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, feels like staying in a castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed in one of their pet rooms, which was tiled and had its own patio. Everything down to the furniture and the most comfortable mattress and pillows I have ever slept on (afterward I bought a new mattress trying to get something as close to what they had as possible) was the best experience. I even loved the shampoo and conditioner. Everybody there was so polite to me and my cat (the people who cleaned my room loved my cat), I even took my cat for a walk around their lawn and gazebo. The place is absolutely gorgeous and I think the nicest place in town. The only complaint was that for some reason the lobby always smelled like hot dogs (I don't eat mean so I found that a bit gross). I would just make my way quickly through the lobby back to my enchanting room, although I could also access it from the sliding doors to the outside.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akubesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    125
    30
    25
    9
See reviews for
94
224
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

The greatest feature of LaTourelle is the wonderful staff. From the minute you enter the property, you are surrounded by a warm and friendly atmosphere. You are treated like family. From Managing Director, Scott Wiggins to Leslie and her daughter, you are cared for and well treated.
Perhaps the TV isn't the latest model and a few small amneties might stand updating but they are more than offset by the lovely setting of the property, the spacious and beautiful grounds and the quiet surroundings more than compensate for these otherwise significant items. I will always look forward to staying here when I am visiting Ithaca!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

2nd visit to la tourelle -- the room was lovely and spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable, as usual. We were a little disappointed to find that while we had access to the spa facilities, it didn't open until 9 am, and the exercise area had been completely taken over by a yoga conference. It would have been nice to have been advised of that upon making the reservation. The bistro was good, but seemed slightly less satisfying than the last time we dined there. Service was friendly but inefficient, even though there was only one other table filled, and the bread basket was sparsely populated with what was described as "imported" baked goods (?). Overall I would say it is above average, but falls just short of very good due to issues mentioned.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We needed a hotel for a night due to an event taking place at Cornell University, 4 miles away. My husband booked online, and we knew nothing about his "pick." Wow! This place was fabulous. From the entrance, with the wood burning fireplace,(so hard to find in Connecticut these days) to the complimentary happy hour with local vineyard wines, to the omnipresent comfort of the place,complimentary and readily available coffees, the amazing restaurant (steak was delicious, though corn fed beef rather than grass fed), but breakfast menu was fabulous,organic and local, and a surprising value based on what was included in the meal. Everything exuded comfort with understated class--We met happy guests who were there for the spa, and it will be worth the 5 1/2 hour ride for us to revisit the resort and get to the spa next time. Simply put, you won't regret booking your stay here. This resort gives you value, comfort, and an experience well beyond its price. The staff was very accommodating to us as well--going above and beyond. Thank you again, Scott, Leslie, and Ashley, for your warm hospitality. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We were 2nd room to the right from check in. It was quiet and had wonderful morning sun and a comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed a night as a get away. We got a spa package and had a couples massage. The hotel was comfortable and the room with a gas fireplace was quite warm. A pleasant state in February in upstate New York. The staff was very helpful but they could be friendlier.

Room Tip: The rooms with gas fireplaces are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaquero viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights in December w/ my significant other and our two dogs. We loved the resort and will return. The dog-friendly rooms are fabulous, and the staff was friendly. They are eco-friendly which is appreciated, though having a steakhouse on premise is ironic. We enjoyed hiking the trails leading to the state park. Dinner at Moosewood is a must as is Ithaca Brewing Co's apricot wheat beer. Yum! The resort is romantic--though there were not many other guests. Thanks for a great stay--and for allowing our pups to come along w/ no add'l fee.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We went to La Tourelle for a night away. We arrived at 1pm to the August Moon Spa and at 3pm we headed over to check in. The front desk employee was nice but the manager on duty was very cold. We were told our room was not ready (had not been cleaned) even though 3pm is the check in time. They suggested we stay in a different room een though we made a reservation a while back for the room we wanted. They went and had the cleaners work on the room while we waited. The front desk employee did apologize and offered us a coupon for free breakfast for our troubles. Our room was ready less than ten mins later. It was a great room and the only trouble we had was fixed promptly. The wine tasting hour was great as well as the cozy fireplace. Other than the manager's attitude we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeneDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.3 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.7 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa

Property: La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Address: 1150 Danby Rd, Route 96B, Ithaca, NY 14850-9406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#8 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a getaway that offers deluxe accommodations; fabulous food; great wine; a destination spa and adventure experiences all nestled in the gorgeous New York Finger Lakes wine region, you've found it! La Tourelle's 54 deluxe rooms have dreamy pillow-top mattresses to ensure a restful night's sleep. You'll need that sleep if you plan on touring the wine trails; visiting the museums; taking a hike in any of five state parks, or participating in the numerous adventure excursions available in "gorges" Ithaca. After experiencing all that Finger Lakes wine country has to offer, you'll really appreciate getting pampered at August Moon Spa. We offer all the services you expect from a destination spa, plus we have two Tranquility Rooms where you can relax and enjoy cuisine from our "farm-to-table" menu at The Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tourelle Hotel Ithaca
La Tourelle Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing