We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Only three out of five because over all, it is a little run down, but the room we had seems like it had been recently refurbished. It was hot outside and we used the outdoor pool, which was pretty average, and that's being nice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 532 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2007

We were visiting the campus of Cornell with our two teenage children and small dogs. This was our fourth night after DC, Baltimore and Philadelphia, and this hotel was more than a pleasant surprise. Located right across the street from Cornell, and right down the street from where the campus tours are conducted, the front desk clerk was more than happy to provide directions and a highlighted map of the campus for us! Not to mention, the dogs were welcomed with enthusiasm, they gave us a great room where we could walk them right outside, and there was plenty of privacy. Also, there was a grocery store within walking distance. Ithaca has some of the best boutique shops I've seen anywhere. And don't miss seeing the Buttermilk Falls.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiannnnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

I stayed at the Best Western hotel in Ithaca for two nights. You should consider my experience as 1. I know the area since I graduated from Cornell a few years ago and 2. I'm not picky about hotel rooms as I've stayed in hundreds due to travelling for sports. While the actual room is OK, I had the worst experience ever as it involved fraud and poor management. While I booked ONE room for two nights, they used my credit card to charge me for an additional room for one night(at the highest rate - no less). I noticed the additional charge the following day. I called the hotel, but they would not refund the $191 (for one night) because I was a "no show". This is despite the fact that I stayed at the hotel that night and paid for a room. I stated that we made a reservation for one room for two nights and that there must have been an error on the part of the desk attendant because there is no reason I would have booked two rooms. The manager acknowledged that there COULD have been an error, but he would not refund my money because they could have rented the room to someone else. I've since filed a complaint with my credit card company. The hotel is indepedently owned and operated so my calls to the Best Western headquarters were shrugged off. Before you book here, I recommend that you try other places: Courtyard by Marriott, Embassy Inn, Hampton Inn, Hilton Garden Inn and The Super 8 (my parents stayed here for graduation - it was fine). If you are willing to pay the extra money, I suggest you stay at The Statler Hotel or La Tourelle.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigRed01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

My husband and I had a very nice 3-night stay here over President's Day weekend (February). We stayed in the 400 wing (thanks to an earlier reviewer's comments); room included gas fireplace and jacuzzi, and king size bed. Room was spacious; would have been better if it included a small table. The only problem we had was regulating the heater; when it was on, it ended up being about 75 degrees! Continental breakfast was more than adequate: it included fruit, juices, cereal, yogurt, bagels, muffins, coffee, instant oatmeal!
The hotel is convenient to Cornell campus, downtown Ithaca, and Pyramid Mall (short drives away). We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2006

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay here. Three years ago, I found this hotel to be dingy, and was only staying here again because of its proximity to campus. As another reviewer suggested, ask for a room in the 400's, a newer wing. The rooms here are large and clean (though I did find gum on the back of the bed while I was searching for an electrical socket). Also, a free wireless Internet connection! The staff was polite and all my requests for shuttles to campus were fulfilled in a timely manner.

Stayed: January 2006
4  Thank MicaelaLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2005

I stayed there for 2 nights while visiting Cornell. The phone in my room didn't work. The closet door wouldn't open or close. The batteries in the TV remote control were held in by a piece of strapping tape. When I tried to open the window in my room, the handle came off in my hand. The bathroom door was plastic and partly caved in. The hair dryer in the bathroom had been replaced with a smaller model, but they didn't fill in the large hole left by the previous one. The toilet ran. The "complementary breakfast" area was overrun with people, so even if I had wanted weak coffee in a styrofoam cup and a microwaved pastry, I wouldn't have been able to sit down or even stand there to consume it.

This place needs a major overhaul. Until that happens, don't stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank heads26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2005

70's style hotel...good, clean, funky room with a cathedral ceiling.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#18 of 22 in Ithaca
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: $104 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*1/2 mile from Cornell University *12 minutes from Ithaca College * East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. * One mile from downtown *Cargill 14 minutes *Borg Warner 12 minutes *Cayuga Lake 1 mile *Cayuga Lake Wineries 12 minutes *Taughannock State Park 16 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing