We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Winterville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Western”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We were in town overnight to visit several friends that day and the next. The hotel assigned us four rooms within one hour before we got a clean one. Our first room had many large cobwebs on the ceiling with a large stink bug living in them. The second room the front desk assigned was still dirty according to the housekeeper that brought our key and checked. The same housekeeper, bless her heart, spent 40 minutes trying to clean the tub and get residual hair off the bathroom floor before we checked the sheets and learned that they had not been changed. The night manager gave us a fireplace suite in another part of the hotel for no additional charge. It was superficially clean but the carpet between the wall and the night stands, and under the pull out couch, appeared very dusty as if it had not been vacuumed in months.

The staff on duty the night of 12/26-27 was very friendly and helpful and wanted very much to "make it right" for us. Because we booked/prepaid through Travelocity the night manager could not issue a credit or discount. I called Travelocity before checking out, and the on-duty manager left a message for the general manager, asking that the GM call us. Travelocity's rep was not helpful about working with the hotel, suggesting that since we finally got a clean room a credit should not be required (what about our hour's worth of inconvenience moving belongings from room to room while trying to get ready for a dinner with friends?).

The GM and Travelocity might have worked something out if the GM called Travelocity or us back. We have been back home for several days and have heard nothing from either party.

I would never stay at this hotel again. Nor do I intend to book again through Travelocity since doing so seriously limits the hotel's discretion.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summit250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    156
    112
    56
    37
See reviews for
197
79
30
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Very, very convenient to Cornell campus. Clean and room design is fine. Our room had nice high ceiling. Personel were extrememly pleasant and responspive to any request. Breakfast is definitely a cut above the rest. Highly recommend this hotel for college visits. Internet connection is free. Well-priced and very comfortable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juniemoondogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Rooms were well-sized and comfortable, including refrigerator and coffee maker. Very nice bathroom. Breakfast was a step above with a make-your-own waffle iron. Very easy access (a few minutes) to Cornell, C-town, downtown, etc. Couldn't beat this value. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

College tour/visit to Cornell with teenager. Overnight. Couldn't have picked a better location and the price was good, too. The hotel offers shuttle bus service to campus, but we wanted our car with us so we could leave directly from the campus. It was about a 3 minute drive to the garage where admissions wants you to park. Location was the main criterion for us and it worked out extremely well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boodleheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed for one night with our dog. The staff is pleasant, the breakfast is yummy and the grounds are clean. If you have a pet, I would certainly recommend this hotel for a short stay. Be advised that the carpeting in the common areas, hallways and room could use a good vacuum and steam cleaning. The quality of the sheets and towels were a bit scratchy and worn and the decor is outdated. Thus, there are better choices in Ithaca for those traveling without pets. However, we were thankful that they are pet friendly and we met very nice people at the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrboro-Haverford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, NY
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This is a comfortable hotel with nice people. The cathedral ceiling in our hotel room was interesting and they have a simple breakfast area that can get you started with the usual coffee/tea, bagels and cereal. It's a nice place and it's conveniently located near Cornell University. With that being said, their proximity to Cornell also drives their price up. If you can't get a good enough deal in Ithaca, take a look at Cortland, NY. They have a nice Hampton Inn and a Comfort Inn there.
I

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

East Corinth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

The continental breakfast and shuttle service is top notch. Rooms are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
652 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
1.2 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing