We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very average hotel”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in mid-January 2014. This is a very dated and limited hotel. The rooms are spacious, but that's about it. The ancient in-room aircon unit would randomly spring into life until I had to turn it completely off. The bathrooms look about 40+ years old and towels were definitely well used.

Breakfast is totally carbohydrates - almost no fresh food (few bananas), only muffins, bagels, waffles, cheese, sugar, oh and more sugar... Very limited and un-exciting. Eat down the street at the local deli - much better choice. Distinct absence of staff at breakfast and everything was disposable...

handy for Cornell University, which is where I was visiting, but transport needed for central Ithaca. As another reviewer has stated, eat 300m away in Agava - ate there most nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allovertheplace2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear allovertheplace,
I am sorry that your stay was not satisfying last January. I would like to speak further about your experience and especially about the breakfast. We are constantly working with our food supplier and come up with healthier items and would like to have any input you can offer.
Please e-mail me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com. I look forward to hearing more of your feedback.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    153
    107
    55
    37
See reviews for
189
78
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times in the past five months. The location is excellent if you are visiting Cornell. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. There is a great restaurant, Agava, within walking distance when you don't want to drive. The hotel is also located near a plaza with a bagel shop and grocery store. We will be back.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms. All good size and quiet. Fridge, microwave, free wifi, free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Jeff,
Thank you for your kind words and positve experiences with us. Yes, Agava has been very popular with our guests, especially Saturday and Sunday brunch! We even have a Dunkin Donuts opening very soon.
We look forward to seeing you again when visiting Cornell.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The front desk and shuttle workers went out of their way to accommodate my needs. While I did not interact with the maids, my room was very clean and they respected my stuff. This was the best shuttle service I have ever used. The rooms were amazing (mine had a jacuzzi). I strongly recommend this hotel (and visiting Ithaca, NY in general).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Robert,
We can't tell you how pleased we are with your review! We really encourage our staff to go above and beyond for all of our guests and are glad that you had the chance to experience that. Please call us again when your travel plans include Ithaca.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Room was lovely and service was excellent. Only issue we had was the policy of the hotel is that we had to ask for room service. I have never stayed in a hotel where we had to ask for room service! It was automatic!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank petraconp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank for your kind words about the room and the service during your stay. I am a little confused about room service. We do clean all rooms daily unless the guest declines or has their "do not disturb" sign on the door.
We then call the room in the afternoon to see if the guest would like any housekeeping service.

Please don't hesitate to call e-mail me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com if I can clarify any of that information.
Sincerely,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My experience at this Best Western far exceeded my expectations. All of the staff was extremely courteous & helpful. When my flights were getting re-routed and cancelled due to bad weather I called the hotel to let them know I would be a day late. Sarah W. handled everything. The shuttle drivers were prompt and willing do anything and everything to help our group. In addition they were very knowledgeable about the local area and made traveling with them entertaining, educational, and fun. This hotel should be used as a model for what more hotels should be like.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Shak,
That was an amazing review! Sarah has been a real asset since she started with us and always willing to go out of her way to give great customer service, whether recommending places to visit or local restaurants for dining.

Your review means alot to us. I will be posting your review for all our staff. Please call us again when you visiting the area.
Best regards,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We travel with dogs, so, the walking area was plenty of green grass. Breakfast is the usual, fine and adequate. Room was plenty large, clean, microwave and refrigerator. Bathroom is good. I always think lighting in the bathroom is bad at places, but not the best western. I could see what I was doing and I liked the hand rail in the tub area. I would stay there again if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Colleen,
That was a very kind review of the Best Western! We, of course, welcome pets and were glad you were able to take advantage of the walking area beside the hotel. This year, we were host to the Grapehound Wine Tour and the group really liked the field next to the hotel even though we are in the town of Ithaca. Please let us know when you come back and we would be happy to reserve you one of our pet friendly rooms.
Sincerely,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is about my 10th time here. I got a room with 20 foot ceilings, two double beds and a sofa. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and sincerely so. Very nice breakfast selection and facility.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryadvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi, Mary,
We are so glad that you have chosen the hotel the many times you have stayed here. Thank you for the positive comments on the breakfast and our staff, as well. When you return to Ithaca again, please give us a call.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing