We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too nice = pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“too nice = pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

a bit much with the high cielings and fireplace (that sounded like it woud explode) this was too much hotel for my purpose.

  • Liked — nice room
  • Disliked — price and location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mykey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    148
    101
    55
    36
See reviews for
181
77
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed here while visiting Cornell. The hotel has a great location -- near Cornell, outside of town in a quiet area, but adjacent to a strip mall with a large supermarket and some restaurants. The rooms are huge, and the breakfast was good.

  • Liked — location, size of rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed at the Best Western University Inn prior to a college visit to Cornell University. We called from our car and got specific directions to the hotel from downtown Ithaca. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the hotel lobby was plentiful with yogurt, cereals, breads and belgian waffles. The hotel is adjacent to the Cornell campus and had a shuttle but we chose to drive our car to the University. I would recommend this hotel to families visiting the Cornell campus.

  • Liked — Location and continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank boi_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel many times. The room I had this last time was large and I was given a room with 'a view,' (field), upon request.

they provide a breakfast which is OK. What I liked was their shuttle service, which will take you around Ithaca until 10:45 pm, upon request.

What I did not like was being awakened one morning at 5 am, a mistake I assume. when I complained about this, no one seemed the least bit interested, nor were they concerned about the person who missed the wake-up call.

Also, problems with their key cards kept occurring; again, no one seemed interested.

All together, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

The shuttle service at this hotel was extremely incompetent. The shuttle was consistently late, causing us to wait outside in the cold for long periods, and occasionally did not come at all (although they claimed to have driven past the corner at which we were waiting). Also, there was an extremely loud noise after the toilet was flushed, the chair was broken - it tilted sideways, almost causing an accident, there were strange and mysterious stains on the wall and ceiling, and there was a sinister and insidious smell of smoke in the room.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pmuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polar3, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2008
I am rather disapointed about the comments on the shuttle. In truth, that same day we had a large student group staying with us. Our shuttle went out of its way to take them to Ithaca locations not on the shuttle route because we wanted to give great customer service. Those comments were not a fair portrait of our shuttle. If you look at the other comments on this site, you will see how accommodating and flexible our drivers have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Victor, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

Arrived on Friday night of Presidents Day weekend at 6:00pm. Clerk at main desk was friendly; check in was quick and efficient. Got to our room (king room with fireplace in the 400 wing) and found 4 workers painting in the foyer of the building! We had to walk around their ladders, plastic on the floor and painting gear to get to the hallway. What kind of establishment would have people painting at check in time of a holiday weekend?? Isn't that something that you would do on a mid week morning when the hotel isn't busy?? Anyway we got to our room which was lovely, except for the horrible paint smell! The paint smell was so strong that we had to have the window open in the room while it was 10* and snowing so we wouldn't get sick from the smell. I called the front desk and complained - they never offered to move us to a different room - just said the painting was supposed to be completed soon and they would check on it. We left and went to dinner, coming back 3 hours later and still smelling the fumes! We slept with the window open all night so we could have some fresh air!
They offer a free continental breakfast in the hotel lobby - which was in another building from where we were so you had to get in your car and drive there for breakfast (which was also a disappointment- there were barely 8 small tables there and there must have been 40 people in this small breakfast area looking for something to eat - many empty bins and the only options left were bread to toast, some bagels and instant oatmeal, coffee and juice.) We said forget it and found a nice cafe a few miles away to have breakfast.
Spent the day out of the hotel and when we returned at 4pm that day the paint smell had finally disappeared! We enjoyed the rest of our stay once we could breathe again. The gas fireplace in the room was a nice addition on a cold winters night! The bed was comfortable, bathroom was large, and the room was very clean. Rooms also had a microwave and refrigerator so that was nice to keep snacks and bottled water chilled.
The hotel is located about 3 miles from downtown adjacent to Cornell University. You have to drive to get to the nice restaurants and bars in town (there are many!) and the commons area.
Overall this isn't a bad place to stay but the paint situation and lack of restocking during the breakfast were definite problems during our stay.

  • Liked — Fireplace, microwave and refrigerator in room and comfy bed
  • Disliked — Smell from painting going on in the foyer for the first day of our stay. Continental breakfast.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upstategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

Only three out of five because over all, it is a little run down, but the room we had seems like it had been recently refurbished. It was hot outside and we used the outdoor pool, which was pretty average, and that's being nice.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN University Inn
Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing