We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting ithaca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is basic as expected. The 1st room we've got was very noisy - old conditioning system making a lot of noise outside of the window. It was not so easy to change as the woman ay the reception was not friendly. Firtunately, there was a staffer called Steven who helped us out with locating a room with a better conditioning system and finding the way in the corridors that first seemed as a maze. The rest of the stay was fine. Except for one night when visitors were making noise till 4am in the morning standing in the corridor and smoking close to our windows. The room we had was very spacious and had a fireplace.The hotel is conveniently located, good parking and reasonable breakfast. "Foods" supermarket and coffee shops nearby. University is very close. Most of the staff at breakfast was very friendly.

Room Tip: try to choose the room with a modern conditiioning system
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 533 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

I will tell you the good part first. The front desk staff and the manager are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was good. The women tending to breakfast worked hard to make sure everything was clean and stocked. Now the not so good, this is a very old, drab hotel. They really need to renovated it. Our room was OK. I was not sure why there was plastic hanging off the box springs. I really did not like the fact that there is no security. The outside doors do not lock. Although this is a safe area, I don't like it that anyone can walk in during the night. The cleaning staff makes a lot of noise in the morning. If you want to sleep past 8am forget it. We got the room through hotwire and I was happy I did not pay a lot of money for the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is nice and clean near the university. There is a grocery store right beside the hotel. The rooms are quiet and clean. Breakfast has a good selection. The staff at the desk are friendly and professional. This is a nice place to stay for a few nights. We were travelling with our 18 month active daughter and the staff were very pleasant to her. I would recommend staying here for families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HawaiiGirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were four people, two per room. Check in was fine, parking was ample, breakfast was ok. The room itself was large enough with a small fridge, microwave and cable TV. The room was old and needed remodeling. Even the sheets, blankets and towels were old and tired. One of our towels had a hole in it. The fridge did not stay closed and the fridge, microwave and dresser drawers all had crumbs in them. The biggest problem was the stale smell in the non-smoking room. When I walked in the room, it smelled as it had not been aired out in a year. It was the summer so I turned on the AC which mitigated the smell a bit, but not nearly enough. When I stay in Ithaca again, I will not use this hotel. There was nothing fresh or pleasant-smelling about it. It was not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SNPPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After a very bad stay at the Comfort Inn in Ithaca we moved to the Best Western University Inn. What a nice change. Rooms were clean, service was friendly, bed was very comfortable. No noise from other rooms. All the normal comforts, coffee maker, frig, hair dryer etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livinfortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We enjoyed a room in the back, in an area called the Polo Suites. This room had a gas fireplace and was nicely decorated. Not sure about the standard rooms. We booked through Priceline and got a good rate. Don't expect that during college graduation, move-in day, etc.

Room Tip: Polo Suites at the far end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This motel is located above Cornell University. A real plus for the traveler is that the hotel is adjacent to a shopping plaza with restaurants, supermarket and liquor store. It is about a 7 minute drive to the Commons downtown. The lobby of this inn is identical to any in the Best Western franchise. On the other hand, the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Our room had a very high ceiling with windows that overlooked the parking lot. You could not see out the windows because they were 15 feet above you but they let in light from the morning sun and gave a cathedral effect to the room.

In addition to the two double beds there was a desk and a sitting chair on one side and a small couch and sitting area on the other. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave. The swimming pool is adjacent to the office. It is on the eastern side of the building so you get some shade from the sun in the late afternoon. They provide towels. There is also a shuttle which will take you to the airport. I think it also goes to the Commons too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcahill6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
716 reviews
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ithaca, NY
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.2 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: $111 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*1/2 mile from Cornell University *12 minutes from Ithaca College * East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. * One mile from downtown *Cargill 14 minutes *Borg Warner 12 minutes *Cayuga Lake 1 mile *Cayuga Lake Wineries 12 minutes *Taughannock State Park 16 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing