We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and practical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite and practical”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Solo trip to Ithaca. Location is excellent for Cornell Univ/Ithaca area. Rooms numbered 300+ are in a separate building from rest of hotel and are spacious with cathedral ceilings, sofa, small refrigerator. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom extremely clean. Would be great for families. No ice in this building-walk through adjacent bldg for ice/soda. Staff was courteous and professional. Short 2 minute walk to stripmall with 24 hour grocery, varied take-out/eat-in restaurants, dry cleaner, Burger King. Free serve yourself breakfast in lobby with cooked eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, breads, coffee/teas/juices. Privately owned and interested in any comments or requests to make my stay more comfortable. Only a few miles from Lake Cayuga- do not miss checking it out :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndy496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    153
    111
    55
    37
See reviews for
191
79
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here one night due to a last-minute change in plans and the lack of hotel vacancies closer to the downtown/entertainment area. The hotel is situated (strangely enough) at the backend of a strip mall and adjacent to a large complex of (what appears to be) student-like housing units. The location seems ideal for easy access to campus but it was miles away from any of the restaurants and downtown spots we had hoped to visit. The service was friendly though understaffed and they were clearly overwhelmed by the number of visitors who happened to be there that night. The property is an old one and it shows in every way – hotel entrances, hallways, bedroom furnishings, windows, bathroom fixtures, etc. On the positive side, the room did seem to be clean which is the one consolation for the relatively high rate we paid. Recommended only if you are stuck in town without the benefit of a reservation at an alternative hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highway_Marker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was not expecting the level of cleanliness, roominess or sheer comfortability this hotel offered my daughter and I during our stay last month! We were there to visit Cornell and wanted to stay close to campus without the high-prices of the 3-star and above levels. We took a chance on the Best Western and were glad we did. The room we stayed in had vaulted ceilings and a ton of space for two women to spread out their "stuff." We were fairly close to campus and were glad to have taken a chance. Don't go their for the amenities, but if you need a nice place to sleep without the high prices, choose this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the vaulted ceiling rooms near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice staff and rooms are decent. But what makes this a very good place to stay if visiting Cornell is the less than 5 minutes drive to the campus. The breakfast was very good . The only issue is it is a long walk to the lobby from the other 2 buildings

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Luxurious, clean rooms. Breakfast was ok, but not overwhelming.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The primary thing this hotel has going for it is its proximity to Cornell University. It is an easy drive to campus or Collegetown. However, the rates during graduation or parent weekends are very high and the rooms are tired, ugly and lack basic amenities such as a room safe. We were advised that we could lock our valuables in their office - not acceptable for a $350/night room. We ended up locking them in our car when we were out of the room. Simple things could vastly improve the experience such as higher quality bedding and towels. The air conditioning units are noisy and cycle on and off all night. The staff is friendly and tries hard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornellmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

It's not bad. It is clean (besides towels). The breakfast is very basic and there are ants all over the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena564889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing