We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amazing Grace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2008

What a fiasco. After apprx. 10 attempts to get a hold of owner we finally got thru booked the "Artist suite". She had emailed back to confirm , we then emailed her back the next day and thanked her and told her we would like to use our gift certificate she donated to Cornell University that we purchased at the silent auction for $110 earlier this year. The morning of our visit I again called her to remind/confirm with her that we are on our way. That call was at 10:ooa:m asking her to please take a moment and call us on the cell so that we wouldn't have to drive down there and not have a place to stay after a day full of winery vists. Well when we arrived we knocked, no answer. Opened door , announced our arrival, no answer? We walked thru house and noticed all 3 rooms seemed occupied? We walked the property to see if maybe she was showing guests, nothing. So I guess it was fitting that we had to turn around and drive back.I had a bad feeling after all the attempts just to make reservation that this was probably not a good idea.Not exactly the way I'd run a business. So BEWARE.....................................

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank 5boysSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2008

We normally don't stay at B&B's--too close for comfort for us--however, when I checked out the website--something drew me in and I am glad. Alicia is a great hostess--we immediately felt at home--very comfortable. Our dog was travelling to Cornell for surgery and she graciously allowed us in with him. It was a picture perfect setting--the farm, the horses, the geese--Willy was in heaven--and we were as well!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katewoodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

My wife spent 2 nights and was so pleased that we returned within weeks for 3 nights with our daughter. Amazing Grace is a place of refuge, set on 10 acres of hillside land offering an opportunity to truly get away from the stresses of everyday life. The owner is a delightful lady who will charm you with outstanding breakfast including fresh fruit, produce, and even eggs from her own hens. If you like a natural environment, fascinating 1836 vintage farmhouse (nicely renovated), beautiful meadows, spring-fed ponds, trees, and a peaceful environment, all under the loving care of a very special proprietor, you'll love Amazing Grace. We will absolutely return and recommend Amazing Grace to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We'd like to say that we had a great time at the Amazing Grace B&B in Ithaca, NY - but we can't. That's because we never got there. Over the course of a couple of weeks prior to our arrival date we had several conversations with the owner. She continally flip-flopped over whether she had a room for us or not. When we left on our trip we were assured that we had a room. During our 6 hour drive we had two phone calls - one from the owner saying to disregard our home phone message that she had left us saying that she had no room for us. (btw - there were no messages on our phone when we got home) - that she indeed did have room for us. Only 20 minutes before our expected arrival another phone call came telling us that her daughter and friend were at the house, and the "other couple" had come, so she had no room for us. She gave us directions to her "friend's" house where we stayed for the two nights. That turned out to be the only good thing that she did. Please think and think again before booking this nuthouse. I would highly recommend that you don't bother - you'll be better off sleeping in your car.

8  Thank marchhare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AASwan, Owner at Amazing Grace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2007

As sole proprietress of my Bed and Breakfast, and as the mother of three grown children, the time occasionally arises when my children are in need of me and of their Home. At these times, I have, and will continue to, always priorities my Family, while at the same time, caring for my registered guests by finding lovely accommodations at the same rate , and within the same proximity to town. I was happy that the reviews noted that they were pleased with the accommodations that I did provide for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giulio438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
6.4 mi away
Inn on Columbia
Inn on Columbia
#3 of 18 in Ithaca
124 reviews
9 mi away
Grayhaven Motel
Grayhaven Motel
#9 of 18 in Ithaca
2 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
706 reviews
6.9 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#18 of 22 in Ithaca
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazing Grace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Grace Bed and Breakfast

Address: 136 Hunt Hill Rd, Five Foxes Farm, Ithaca, NY 14850-9697
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing