We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far above Cayuga's waters, there's a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Far above Cayuga's waters, there's a great hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The best hotel in the area, by far, and perfect for anyone who wants to be on the Cornell campus. If you can afford it, get a "view room" for the views of iconic Cornell landmarks like Uris Library's bell tower and Sage Chapel (currently under restoration) and the hills and valley beyond. Rooms are big and have everything you need, including bathrobes, umbrella, refrigerator, roomy safe, lots of drawer space, big desk, free wi-fi, etc. There's a fitness room on the lobby level, but no swimming pool. The pools in other area hotels aren't big enough for lap swimming anyway, and here you can get a swim pass from the front desk for use at one of the University pools (at Teagle or Helen Newman Hall). The hotel's main restaurant is Taverna Banfi where you can order a la carte or enjoy their wonderful breakfast and lunch buffets. The staff is always cheerful, polite, and helpful. Love it!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobbstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    139
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
264
62
42
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I would have given The Statler a well deserved 5 stars, except that after driving from Toronto we arrived hungry at 1.45 pm, and on checking in we asked where we could eat. A receptionist informed us we were too late for the restaurant, it closes at 2.00pm, but we could go to the bar which would open at 2.00pm where they serve food. Our room would be ready at 3.00pm, and they would phone us. We waited in the bar for 10 minutes, but nothing was open or opening, so at 2.10pm we returned to reception and asked the same woman if the bar was going to open. She looked a bit surprised and then told us she had made a mistake, the bar wouldn't open until 4.00pm as it was Sunday. She suggested restaurants in the town, but as we were tired and at this point very hungry and there was a very severe thunderstorm with lashing rain, my wife suggested we try the restaurant anyway, even though we were told it was closed. A very kind young lady allowed us choose from the buffet which they were beginning to dismantle. There was little left, but the food was good, and we were nevertheless charged the full price! We did not receive the promised phone call to tell us our room was ready. However, when we did get our room it was truly lovely, spotlessly clean, with a wonderful view of the campus. We ate dinner in the bar, excellent food and service, as was breakfast next morning prior to leaving. What a pity, it would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStatlerHotel, Director of Rooms at The Statler Hotel at Cornell University, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Colin,

I am very sorry that your arrival experience was less than stellar. We take great care to train staff and ensure they have the information needed so that miscommunications such as this do not occur. We will share your review with our staff and use it as an example of what happens when we don't manage the details.

I'm glad to hear that the remainder of your stay was positive and hope that we can have an opportunity in the future to create a fond memory that begins at check in. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me with additional feedback.

Best regards,
Rebecca Rypkema
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Statler Hotel was the perfect hotel for our business conference. Food provided by the Lounge, room service and conference meals was very good. Beds were comfortable and rooms were immaculately clean. The service by front-desk staff and others was always very friendly and helpful - providing walking maps for 1 mile, 5 mile & 7 mile routes from hotel, spa recommendations, supplying additional bottled water, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I love the Statler. I wish staff at every hotel could be so lovely and professional. Cleanest rooms ever. Room service delicious, and well priced, breakfast buffet beyond delicious and also well priced ($17!) for everything from smoked salmon to sinfully decadent homemade cinnamon rolls and omelets to order.
I stayed twice recently. The first time the per was THE best bed ever. The second time the double was so-so, with sheets that were weirdly "pilled" and felt very synthetic. Odd and out of place for such a wonderful hotel. Each and every staff, from front desk to wait staff and car valets thoughtful and smiley and professional.

Room Tip: Stayed twice this month, both times 7th floor, once with school view, once with mountain view. Extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamperNorwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here while my son attended a sports camp. Perfectly situated at the heart of the campus and easy to walk around. Students working in the hotel are so polite and helpful. The campus golf course is pristine and very well priced. Play in the morning and it was deserted. So peaceful. Collegetown is an easy hike down the hill but what goes down must come up.

Clean rooms, nice bed sheets, Keurig coffee machine in the room, iPod Dock for iPhone 5, etc...

I miss it already. Shout out to zinzan at the lounge bar for great G&Ts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Statler when we toured Cornell. First class hotel with excellent service and the amenities of a five star establishment. Food was excellent and the room was oversized and very comfortable. Honestly it had to be the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in - one could literally eat off the floor!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank anastasia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Statler was well presented and maintained. The staff was very attentive and courteous. Extremely friendly as well. The cleaning staff did a magnificent job as the Hotel was consistently clean and well presented. The rooms were outstanding.

Room Tip: Only item missing was turn-down service, however, the staff, room presentation and cleanliness certa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.8 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
651 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
1.2 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Statler Hotel at Cornell University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Statler Hotel at Cornell University

Property: The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Address: 130 Statler Dr, Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#1 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#1 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Statler Hotel at Cornell University 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Hotel In the Heart Of The Cornell Campus Nestled amidst the picturesque gorges and eclectic architecture of Cornell University, The Statler Hotel blends dignified Ivy League ambiance with the bustling energy of campus life. Experience the unique character of this elegant hotel. You will be welcomed by passionate, ambitious students from Cornell’s world-renowned School of Hotel Administration, working alongside seasoned hospitality professionals. Delight in the upscale accommodations and service you would expect from a first-class hotel. Overlooking the gorgeous Finger Lakes countryside – – only minutes from colorful downtown Ithaca – – we offer university visitors, corporate travelers, and alumni a truly unique lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Statler Hotel at Cornell University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statler Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing