We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Statler Hotel at Cornell University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
434 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

That's it. It's a very nice hotel that has you by the you-know-what's (!). It is the only hotel located directly on the Cornell Campus and they know it. Any other hotel is far, far away down very, very steep hills that compare to those of San Francisco. Free close by parking with in and out privileges. Staff is very friendly and rooms are very nice- but no Ritz-Carlton. The hotel is ridiculously expensive, especially during interview season. But you know what? They've got you by the ........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    132
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
247
57
42
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff were excellent, rooms comfortable (if modest in size), and food was superb. Location ws vary handy for getting around the university campus, and the bucolic surroundings were pleasant and colorful in the autumn. Excellent nearby Robert Trent Jones golf course.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty similar, but higher ones get a better view (in has 9 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent two nights with family during our east coast college tour... While the hospitality and customer service was excellent, it was the location that made it wonderful for us - right in the middle of the campus, easy walk to any of the departments. It is definitely not cheap. Thanks to all the students working in different departments to make our first trip to Ithaca a memorable one!

Room Tip: Superior view rooms in the 9th floor offer excellent view of the campus and beyond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank History4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Statler in September for 5 nights, and had a wonderful time. Comfortable, wonderful hotel, and we loved being on the Cornell campus. The students were fantastic, always asking to help us. Be sure to eat at the Taverna, and don't miss the Plantations and the Ornithology Lab on Cornell's campus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel in Ithaca, and we sure found it. It is not cheap, but the luxury of the place, the stylish room and the friendly, helpful staff make it a worthwile stay! The experience to stay directly on the campus is unique. From our window we overlooked the campus with its famous bell-tower, had a view of the lake and enjoyed the most romantic sunset. The only thing may be is the fee of $12/night for the car park, which I found a bit penny-pinching concerning the room-rate of $265.- +tax

Room Tip: Rooms facing west - overlooking the campus are recommendable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calist65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroadagn7
Level Contributor
532 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were visiting the campus for my son's college tour and enjoyed seeing so many students from The Hotel School working at the hotel. The young woman who checked me in gave me some great background on the campus golf course when she heard we were also interested in golf.

Our admissions session was in Statler Hall so we were able to get there without going outside which was nice.

Not that it matters, but I accidentally left my headphones on the bike in the workout room and they were surprisingly still there when I went back the next morning.

Food at the main buffet was good. Couldn't believe that the maple syrup was from trees on the Cornell campus!

I would recommend this for anyone with an activity on campus. Despite the higher cost, the convenience is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
314 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We ( My daughter wife and I ) when to drop our son Abhiroop where he was starting as a Freshman. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Statler. The service was oh so prompt.The food was superb. As such I am unable to point out any fault..

Room Tip: All rooms are good I presume. For a family of 3 or 4 it is a good idea to book a room with two beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
0.9 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Statler Hotel at Cornell University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Statler Hotel at Cornell University

Property: The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Address: 130 Statler Hotel, Ithaca, NY 14853-6901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#1 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Statler Hotel at Cornell University 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Hotel In the Heart Of The Cornell Campus Nestled amidst the picturesque gorges and eclectic architecture of Cornell University, The Statler Hotel blends dignified Ivy League ambiance with the bustling energy of campus life. Experience the unique character of this elegant hotel. You will be welcomed by passionate, ambitious students from Cornell’s world-renowned School of Hotel Administration, working alongside seasoned hospitality professionals. Delight in the upscale accommodations and service you would expect from a first-class hotel. Overlooking the gorgeous Finger Lakes countryside – – only minutes from colorful downtown Ithaca – – we offer university visitors, corporate travelers, and alumni a truly unique lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Statler Hotel at Cornell University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statler Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing