We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased - will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed here for several days last summer. We were very pleased. The room was very nice, as was the pool. Location can't be beat. Hoping to visit again this season.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TresLeches25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 862 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

If you know the HGI, you know they have nice fitness areas and pools (though this pool is very small). The location is fantastic, right across from the interesting pedestrian mall. The room could have used a bit of a freshening up, but it was still quite acceptable. Parking was free, a plus in downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This is an unexceptional property save for what is clearly bad management. It's hard to blame the employees for an unclean, bad hotel when it is clearly management that is to blame. Do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel. The Statler on campus is exceedingly clean and although managed and run by students it is ten-fold better than the Hilton Garden Inn in Ithaca, which is amongst the worst hotels I've encountered.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePlainsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiithacagm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on trip advisor. I would love the opportunity to discuss your issues with you! Please feel free to contact me at the hotel at 607-277-8900 or email me at jim.bouderau@hilton.com. I look forward to hearing from you and discussing what specific issues you may have had.

-Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend in July. In researching Ithaca hotels I was surprised at how expensive room rates are, especially since it is 'off season' for Cornell. Regardless, we decided to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn with its $180/night price tag since it is the newest hotel in town, and we wanted the cleanliness and comfort of a more modern room. Also, we thought that the location would be worth the premium since we were visiting the city as tourists and wanted to be in the heart of the action. There are certainly less expensive options a drive away, but being able to walk to places from our hotel was important to us.

Overall it was an enjoyable stay, meeting our expectations for a clean chain hotel. If we were to return to Ithaca we would probably stay here again.

Pro's:
- Location right on the Commons
- Free parking (the lot is a public garage across the street, which we didn't mind walking to)
- Free wifi (we had no problem with the connection)
- Newer bedding on a comfy bed (i.e. no scratchy polyester comforter!)
- Mini fridge and microwave in the room
- Nice Neutrogena toiletries (lotion, shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash)
- 24-hr business centre with free internet and printing
- Friendly staff

Con's -- there aren't any big watch-outs, however here are some things that might bother some people:
- Some light street noise (we were on the seventh floor and on occasion some traffic noise crept through the window, but it was infrequent)
- A bit of wear and tear in the bathroom with paint peeling from the ceilings (likely due to moisture build-up since the bathroom doesn't have a fan)
- No safes in the rooms
- Those annoying hangers that don't detach from the closet rail!
- The idea of an indoor pool is great, although it looked really small and when we peaked in the smell of chlorine was overwhelming

If cleanliness, comfort and location are most important to you in a hotel room, then the Hilton Garden Inn is probably the best choice in downtown Ithaca.

Tip: If you're thinking of staying at the Holiday Inn, give the front desk a call, you might get a good deal on the rate. I mentioned that I'm a Priority Club member and the staff offered me a rate of $160/night for a king room in the executive tower, $50 less expensive than the internet rate of $209! Even so, we decided to stay at the Hilton and are pleased with the choice that we made.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed one night at the Hilton Garden Inn in Ithaca. It was fair at best.

Of course, we were in Ithaca to visit Cornelly. Surely, the hotel exists to suck in visitors to the University. The location is superb. Other than the Statler on the Cornell campus itself, this is about as close as you can get. You can walk it if you're young and strong, but the hill between the town of Ithaca and the University is extemely steep, long, and daunting.

The staff of the hotel is young and energetic in stark contrast to Ithaca itself. The hotel itself is a stone's throw from Ithaca Commons, a run down and tired looking pedestrian mall with half of the store fronts vacant. The room was clean, but small, dark and depressing. What happened to the low hotel prices that were supposed to be available this summer? They're not in Ithaca, where the few accomodations that exist can apparently charge pretty much what they want since they have the Cornell visitors as their captive audience.

There is apparently valet parking for an outrageous fee, but there is free parking as well. Unfortunately, it is in an unattended multi-level garage about a block away and of questionable safety although we didn't end up having any problems.

Next time, I would pony up an extra $100 and try staying at the Statler, although there is virtually nothing to do on the Cornell campus in the summer except to tour the grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batmasterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiithacagm, general manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel, I know you are busy, so taking the time is greatly appreciated. I am sorry that you were not left with a great impression of our area, however I think that if you do come back, I would reccommend some research in advance so that you are better able to navigate what we have available to you. We are one block from the Ithaca commons, I do not know when you visited, but I have never know the commons to be filled with empty storefronts. It is the heart of downtown, with over 15 restaurants, several bars, and many businesses operating daily. Many of the restaurants are only open for dinner, so perhaps you got that impression during the day, when there is less of a social atmosphere. We are also happy to provide you and other guests an Ithaca is Gorges Guide, it is your all inclusive guide to all things Ithaca, including our numerous gorges, waterfalls, and state parks. Both Cornell and Ithaca College are up some pretty steep hills, so I would highly reccommend that if you do not feel like driving yourself, or do not have a vehicle while staying with us, when checking in that you schedule our complimentary shuttle service to campus, it is available 7am to 11pm everyday, so unless you want a workout, it is agreat option available to you. our valet fee is $15 per day for unlimited use, and parking is located directly accross the street from the hotel. the garage is attended and owned by the city of Ithaca, and I have never know there to be any issue with safety or security at the garage, but I completely understand that being in a strange town for the first time, you may not be aware of just how safe of a city ithaca is. I hope that this addresses some of your concerns, and if you should need any further assistance, or wish to discuss your experience in greater detail, please do not hesitate to let me know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We have given this hotel a chance repeatedly as its location is excellent. However, no more! On FOUR occasions here we have been woken up in the night by screaming fire alarms and forced to walk down 9 floors for non-fires. This has never happened to us elsewhere, and we travel a lot. Seems like something is wrong with this system.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed at the Hilton Garden inn on April 9 2009, and before we checked in, we called to let them know (as we do at ALL hotels we stay at) that we are deathly allergic to down and to remove it from the room. We got there, it was not removed. We asked again to have it removed, and it was not removed. We went to a concert and then got back, and it was still not removed. Finally, at 1:30am, it was removed because we asked over and over again until someone finally came up. They told us that there were no other blankets or pillows for us, so we didn't get any at all - lovely, esp. for over $150/night. So, we slept as best we could, and checked out in the morning (also, there were no soaps, shampoos, etc. in our room... not well cared for). When we checked out, we paid our bill and left, on time.

As we were going through credit card bills, we noticed we were charged for the room, then additional $100, then credited for $100, then charged for $350! We were never contacted about this, and didn't agree to it. So, we called yesterday and were told to call back - I said no - they can call me, and lucky for them they did. I get a voicemail today saying that we were CHARGED for the MISSING PILLOWS AND DOWN DUVET! MISSING? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Now they are 'talking to housekeeping' to see who was on that night - like anyone would remember in early April? GIVE ME A BREAK. Again, another hotel scam - maybe next vacation I will just take a tent and rough it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
705 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca

Address: 130 E Seneca St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Green Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: $145 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing