We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here after a summer of cross-country travel and staying at lots of chain hotels, including other Hilton Garden Inns. At $151 before tax (a "discount" rate), I expected at least the quality of those other, comparably priced hotels. The mattress was shot; it was very soft, which in itself isn't bad, but it also had no support on the sides, so that we ended up sleeping in these "valleys"--not so good for the back. It was impossible to get a full flow out of the tap; it seemed restricted somehow. The tub drain plug didn't adjust properly with the metal lever so that you had to manually prop it open if you didn't want the tub to fill while showering. In short, things that might be forgivable in an $89 room, but in one that ends costing $170? Add to this cheap and dowdy bathroom fixtures/design and the room was a disappointment. I've been sending guests here for years thinking it was the better and newer hotel in town, but now that I've stayed here I will have to rethink the recommendation.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We have the Garden Sleep System bed Adjustable bed conforms to your body, gently cradling your neck, spine and legs while providing pressure-free sleep with 100% virgin wool mattress topper that helps regulate and maintain comfortable body temperature the adjustment knobs are on both sides of the bed. It seems we fell short of telling you how to adjust the knobs for your sleep comfort and I am deeply sorry for this. We have recently transitioned to a more eco-friendly shower-head and faucet, and we are still ironing out some of the wrinkles. I have been working with our maintenance team to correct the problem and avoid issues of this nature in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 884 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Hotel staff was the warmest most inviting I have ever encountered. Always cheerful and engaging. Location of Hotel in Ithaca was perfect for all tourists. The dinning choicest within walking distance were astounding. All tourist siteis were moments away by car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. Did you know that Ithaca has more restaurants per capita than New York City?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is a very nice hotel. We had no problem parking in the parking garage and it is just a short walk from the hotel. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff was extremely helpful and kind! The staff was very knowledgeable about the local scene and directed us to various places to eat. We stayed there 2 nights and visited the hotel bar both nights. We enjoyed the ambiance of the bar and the friendly bar staff. We enjoyed complimentary morning coffee in the lobby and a nice snack in the afternoon. This hotel is a bit expensive but it was a great treat and we would book there again in a heart beat. We had a WONDERFUL time in Ithaca and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hilton Garden Inn!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor we look forward to your return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

located right next to a bus stop, Collegetown Bagels, and the Commons, this is ideally located for visiting Cornell. The building is modern and clean, with all the amenities that you would expect from a Hilton chain. A bit pricey for what it is, since there are really just not that many options in Ithaca, but definitely my preferred place to stay when I'm back here. Breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We do offer a Bed and Breakfast rate at a good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Ithaca while attending a conference at Cornell. The location was in center town, across the street from the Ithaca Commons. The parking garage was on a corner directly across the street from the facility. It was a straight trek up the hill to Cornell University.
The hotel was very clean, bright and well managed. As with most Hiltons, it had good security stratagies.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and never had to wait for them.
My only downside was that the restaurant in the hotel had no room available. It was a very popular local Irish pub--but I could not get a table. They did have room service provided by the pub, but instead I decided to go to Moosewood, which is just about next door to the facility.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJBDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Please ask for me (Jerry) when you’re in town again and I will make sure you get into Kilpatrick’s Irish Pub, we offer real Irish pub food and yes it is well known around town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week in October while in town for a wedding. We stayed in the Wharton Suite (king bedroom suite with whirlpool bath) and loved it! The views were fantastic and the room was spacious, very nice, clean, and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Perfect location in downtown. Just a 2 min walk to collegetown bagels for a delicious breakfast! Also a starbucks right next door. But when you're in Ithaca you should eat where Ithacans eat :) I would definitely stay here again. Will be much better once the construction in the commons is complete.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abstravel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor the construction in the commons is scheduled to be complete next year however they have done a really good job of keeping it open for visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The HGI in Ithaca was excellent for my short business trip. The courteous and welcoming staff were a delight. The food was excellent as well. Although the treadmill in the gym could use some oil, the rest of the equipment was top notch. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank qjohnson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. I know that you are very busy but I cannot tell you how incredibly important your feedback is! As you know we have two restaurants on site one is for breakfast only (The Garden Grill) and the other (Kilpatrick’s Irish Pub) I did have the treadmill looked at and is now working fine. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
716 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ithaca, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca

Address: 130 E Seneca St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: $147 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing