We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway with minor issues”
Review of City Lights Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Lights Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Agree with many other positive reviews regarding the very friendly and hospitable owner and other staff, pleasant location, very spacious and comfortable rooms, cleanliness, and delicious breakfasts. Our child loved the resident kitties and the frog ponds and was very happy there. We would definitely be back! My one minor concern is that one person's 'shabby chic' may be another person's 'shabby'. For example, the outdoor furniture (lounge chairs and couches) had seen much better days; there was rust on the arms of one of the chairs. There was a painted-over paper plate covering a hole in the wall of our room. The bathroom door did not close easily and scraped the floor due to warping (there was a note reminding people to close the door quietly, but that was hard given the warping issue). So, while not terrible, these sorts of little issues kept the place from feeling quite as peaceful and pretty as one would hope.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FitToBeTried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place is heaven - the rooms are lovely, eclectically decorated, comfortable and clean, the gardens are breathtaking, and Colleen, the owner, is fantastic. Be sure to be there on a weekend for the best breakfast you will ever have. City Lights is truly hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: We love the North Suite, which sleeps 4 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Ithaca and loved our experience! The room was perfect, the house is very old yet there was a tremendous sense of peace and quiet. The decor defines 'shabby chic' and the food was perfect. A great base for visiting the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonneChere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My parents always stay here when visiting me in Ithaca. I have stayed there a few times with them as well, to get off of campus for a little. Colleen is the best of hosts and she is very entertaining to talk with in the mornings. The place is always impeccably clean, breakfast is always delicious, and the view is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa_Rodanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The in keepers were so personable! We could come and go as we please. They were so laid back but showed sincere hospitality. The decor was beautiful and the inn in general was so inviting. Our room was comfortable and stylishly decorated.

The food was delicious and fresh.

Everything was phenomenal and we cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: If there is just two of you, we stayed in the Granny's Room. There was plenty of space! Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

After staying at other B&B's in the area, we finally found a good fit! Felt like we were visiting family when we chatted with Colleen and Evan. Very personable, down to earth, and not one bit pretentious! We loved our accommodations, the shabby sheek decor was awesome and very fitting of this quaint, old farmhouse. The breakfast table was set beautifully, and the food was a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. Colleen was the perfect hostess! She helped us decide which rooms were best for our party of eight! And we were very happy with the setup! And just far enough out of town that you had peace and quiet. Will definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: We had the North Suite which was connected to a sitting room and a kitchenette. Worked out well wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago on our way through town. We were only there for a quick stay, but we couldn't have asked for a better place to spend the night. The room we stayed in (the North Suite) was huge, incredibly comfortable and spotless. It felt like we were staying in our own vacation home. Breakfast in the morning was delicious -- and Colleen was a great host. Such good food, conversation, and a great place to stay -- what could be better? Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a rustic and relaxing place to stay when heading to Ithaca.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jz614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLightsBB, Owner at City Lights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

This is a big thank you to the reviewer. We have a wonderful place here, and it has been great to share it with so many nice guests. We always say, "We get the best guests", and many return again and again. We want our guests to be comfortable and relaxed. There is no pretense here, we have gone through many changes and life challenges lately, and our guests have been so supportive. Our goal is to be friendly, clean, relaxing and an affordable place to stay near Ithaca. Thank you to all those guests who have supported us and wrote a review on TripAdvisor. It's not always easy to live up to! But, we try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.4 mi away
Inn on Columbia
Inn on Columbia
#3 of 18 in Ithaca
124 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ithaca, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
716 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Inn

Address: 1319 Mecklenburg Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9394 (Formerly The Inn @ City Lights)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: $125 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County chic Greek Revival farm house, private suites, beautiful gardens, hiking, x-country ski, running trail on site, Cable, Wireless, AC, full breakfast on weekends, enjoy the panoramic view of the "city lights". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing