We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food--slow, mediocre service”

Taste of Thai Express
Ranked #22 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Towanda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food--slow, mediocre service”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I arrived around 2 pm on a Saturday afternoon. It didn't seem overly busy, but it still took 10 minutes to get water and then another 5 - 10 for before our server took our order. During the order process, the server wasn't unfriendly, but he certainly wasn't helpful either. Once our order was in, we had to wait quite a while for our appetizers and then only one of them came. We had long finished our spring rolls before the other appetizer arrived. While waiting, the table behind us got up and left because they had been sitting so long without anyone attending to them. I don't think their complaints made it beyond the girl at the desk.

When the food finally came, I notified the server that one of the dishes had the wrong protein. At first he tried to say that he heard "mock chicken", not tofu, but when he finally checked his order pad, he realized he had brought us the completely wrong dish. Apparently he had grabbed one of our plates and one from someone else's order. He quickly returned it to the kitchen and brought our other dish out. The food did taste good, but the top layer was luke warm at best, which meant it had been sitting. During the meal, our water glasses were never refilled; they were both empty when we left.

Generally we go to Tamarind, but given all of the high reviews for this restaurant, we thought we'd check it out. We definitely won't be back. We thought the menu diversity was a little better at Taste of Thai, but the food and service are better at Tamarind!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatrealfood90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    63
    20
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty and Relaxing”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The restaurant is small, but the food is very good.There is a small parking lot which can get pretty busy at times. We found street parking nearby. Atmosphere was relaxed and people seemed to be enjoying their time and food. Service was friendly, efficient, and helpful. Food was nicely spiced and well portioned; many vegetarian options. This is a place I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5Merlin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Level Contributor
177 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Taste of Thai Express is a very basic restaurant, which also has take out. It is located in a marginal part of town, but they have their own parking lot which makes it very convenient and safe.
The service was very friendly and accommodating.
Food was plentiful, hot, and tasty. My wife and I ordered Chicken Satay, Cashew Stir Fry, and Sweet and Sour, all very good. Prices very reasonable.
Definitely would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Ithaca”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I am an Ithaca local and Taste of Thai Express is definitely my favorite restaurant here. I am a vegetarian, and they can make almost anything on the menu suitable for me to eat. The yellow curry is probably the tastiest, most reliable dish in town, and its a good price. The interior of the restaurant is nice, but the service can be hit or miss. Sometimes your food will be out in like 8 minutes, sometimes it feels like ti takes forever to get the wait staff's attention. Still, I go here at least once a month, and never regret it. You should check it out if you are in town (and definitely order the yellow curry!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubsbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Real Taste Treat”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This past weekend we were very fortunate that our daughter's wedding was catered by Taste of Thai Express.

She and her partner (now wife) planned the wedding menu, and everything was absolutely delicious. The appetizers... spring rolls, chicken satay, firecracker shrimp, spicy basil chicken, garlic black pepper salmon, pad see ew, and more were exceptional.

The people who served were very professional looking, and very attentive to the guests. It was a buffet dinner served in a tent, and the chafing dishes were replenished whenever it was needed.

Equally delicious were the soft drinks, i.e., Thai iced tea, tropical green tea, and fresh limeade with mint. Yummm!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floridagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Thai Express also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Taste of Thai Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing