We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a juggling act”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Just a Taste

Just a Taste
Ranked #3 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pottstown
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Quite a juggling act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

There must be quite a show inside the small kitchen at Just a Taste in Ithaca, NY. Jugglers in disguise as cooks perhaps? These people have be something special as dining guests are offered up to forty different types of tapas on the extensive menu. Then you figure each couple orders up to six different tapas for a meal and wow...there must be a lot of plates in the air in that kitchen!
Nonetheless, the tapas come out in a timely manner and are elaborately presented. The diner is left with a wonderful array of flavors that make eating a mini-adventure. No wonder the place is so popular. Just a Taste is not very big so there is limited seating, especially if the outdoor patio in the back is not open. We had to wait a half hour with the patio open. Believe me, it was worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bearlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    119
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to this little gem. We requested seating on the outdoor patio and it was great. The food was fabulous! My favorites were the potato wedges, garlicky greens, and pulled pork. The desserts were a bit underwhelming though. We will definitely return:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spundar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“really fun and yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Make reservations if you can; we called a few minutes before getting there to hold a table and it was a good call. The food was great; lots of options and so so fabulous. Tapas but not just "spanish" flavored so you can try a lot of things. the service was a bit harried but they did a good job of keeping up. Its small; good wines and flights. Reasonable prices. delicious

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I haven't experienced a tapas-style restaurant, so it was a real treat to be able to select a variety of dishes and experiment with different flavours to see what went with each other, along with a variety of drinks. Food was of good quality and always hot, the orders came quickly and we did not feel pressured by the wait staff as sometimes busy places will 'encourage' you to get out in order to have a faster turnover in customers. We were there on a Tuesday night and it was crowded with every table filled, which should tell you something about the restaurant.

Will definitely go back again the next time we're in Ithaca!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pb630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Delicious small plates, beautifully prepared. I love sampling a few bites, then trying something else. A nice variety available. Very reasonable price. We got there early so seating was no problem

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Booksloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just a Taste also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Just a Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing