We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing--worth a wait in line”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Just a Taste

Just a Taste
Ranked #4 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing--worth a wait in line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This small tapas and wine bar was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Ithaca. It was also on our list from T.A. reviews. We were not disappointed. The service was impeccable. Waiter was knowledgeable about the menu, thoroughly explained the choices and helped us make decisions because we couldn't order "one of everything." We were at Just a Taste mid-week and so we didn't wait in a line. We were there at opening time, however, and there were probably 10 people waiting to get in. The wine list featured lots of regional choices as well as a selection from California, Italy, etc. This will definitely be on our list for our next visit to Ithaca.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Docinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    119
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hartford, ct
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a GREAT place to eat! Waited over an hour, but worth it! the food was so fresh and delicious. you order "tapas" and split it with your group. The brussels sprouts were delicious, as was the mushrooms, steak, and veggie dishes. you can order flights of 5 tastings of wine for $11.25. although the 4 of us (only 2 drinkers) spent $110, it was worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smschloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow--tasty and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We LOVED this restaurant. My husband and I ate our first Ithaca meal here on a quick weekend getaway trip. It was fantastic. I love it when a server gets personally invested in your food choices. Ours made sure we had good combinations. Everything was delicious. The pork was fantastic. The greens were fresh. The mushrooms perfectly sauteed. And whatever chocolate dessert that is in between a pudding and a mousse--outstanding. Wines were pretty cheap too. All and all a great dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schussles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tapas on charming patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a really wonderful dinner at Just a Taste. The food was really tasty and perfect portion sizes to share 5 or 6 dishes. The atmosphere was really great - especially on the back patio where we were seated - it was perfect on a hot summer night we a glass of chilled sangria - just perfect!! I can definitely recommend Just a Taste - it was the by far the best dinner experience we had while visiting Ithaca.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngerLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
204 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tapas style with lots of choices and almost all excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

If the braised lamb had had any flavor I would have given this place an excellent rating. All the other choices we made were excellent, especially the potato wedges with aioli. No reservations and a crowded college atmosphere but not overly noisy and service fine. Total cost was very reasonable too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just a Taste also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Just a Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing