We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Thomas Steakhouse

John Thomas Steakhouse
Ranked #26 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Steak and Veal Chop were delicious. The crab cocktail appetizer was tasty. The atmosphere is charming.The service was attentive. Good wine selections, and amazing desserts

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tess3018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    46
    19
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

About five minutes out of town. A bit pricey, but delicious steak. My friend and I each ordered Filet Mignon, a dish of mashed potatoes and string beans and it was more than we could finish. It is in an old house which is charming -- a very Vermonty feel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaBell49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Tasty Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Working our way across New York this was our latest stop for food. The service was great and the food was quite delicious. Try the salmon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MItch_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrible service. Mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

They did not sufficiently cool the restaurant down and it was very unpleasantly warm.
The food is mediocre at best.

Helpful?
Thank IthacaResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velsen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steaks in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Tucked away behind some trees, this country house offers a range of excellent steaks and seafood. The very best Surf & Turf I have ever had. Friendly and knowledgeable service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Thomas Steakhouse also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to John Thomas Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing