We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New definition to what a burger should be”

Glenwood Pines Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New definition to what a burger should be”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a restaurant that is very easy to drive by and not stop at and that would be a mistake, we stopped there two families, total of 10 people and had a very good meal.

I know that others have wrote about their legendary Pinesburger but you really need to try it, it comes in a bread they bake and it's one of the best burgers you're going to have

The prices are also very reasonable, the portions are ofnangood size - we could not ask for more

May I also add that the restaurant is also overlooking the lake so you can also enjoy the view

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    32
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Restaurant”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I'm all about comfort and the Glenwood is as comfy as can be. Good home made food, served by energetic staff in a relaxed setting. The reuben lunch special is the BEST! Otherwise it's a coin flip whether to have the fish fry or a burger. love them both...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy2wander29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hamburger”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went there because we read that they cook the best hamburger in the area. The classic pine burgers were amazing. Also my mum who doesn't like hamburgers, ate it with pleasure. They have also a challenge: try to eat 4 burgers to be awarded with a t-shirt. We would go there another time maybe to try it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good ole comfort food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been eating at this restaurant since 1974. We moved away 18 years ago, but went back last week. The "Pines" is as good as ever. They still serve the legendary Pinesburger, their fish fry is the tastiest around, you can save a bunch of money by ordering the fish sandwich instead,it's pleanty big and just as tasty. Spaghetti and meatballs still a great choice at a great price, and of course the Glenwood Glutten, all very reasonably priced. We were a group of 10, sat downstairs and had a great time. Also great for families, couples or just the guys (gals) after a round of golf.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanleyzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went on Thursday night and the place was packed. We couldn't find a parking spot but
after we were inside we noticed there was a lower lot too. Also inside is a lower part to the restuarant with larger tables. There was some kind of mix up in the waitress serving us so no one came and they waited on people that came in after. They came and apologized and service was great afterwards We had the fish and chips and it was great but the fries weren't homemade.
The portions are big enough and my huband and I split a dinner. A lot of the people were having
the burger on a bun. I would maybe go again to try the burger. I thought there might be a better
view of the lake as it is right on the water but you actually can't see it very much from your
table. The decor is nothing fancy but food is good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank booking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Pines Restaurant also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Glenwood Pines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing