We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahogany Grill

Mahogany Grill
Ranked #5 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Character and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed this place. It has a good ambiance, interesting American style,well presented and prepared food in a calm environment with subdued lighting. The steak was fabulous! Service was also professional and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eisenstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    154
    48
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay...not very impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stopped in for dinner. Had a Mediterranean salad that was okay, not impressed. My husband had the mahogany burger that he enjoyed. We tried the truffle fries that were decent. Probably wouldn't stop in again though. Staff was friendly and attentive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eoanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food/good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited in a hot May evening, opted for the inside with ac although outdoor table were quite full. Started with a tasty calamari with a spicy cilantro pesto and jalepeno sauce, then a small chopped Greek salad (large enough to share and followed with a delightful pasta with a lemon and pistachio sauce that hit the spot. Companion had feta and spinach pasta and a side of asparagus with lemon aioli and sliced almonds...very good as well. Small but good wine list, comfortable seats, nice ambiance, good and knowledgable service and not badly priced...made for a very enjoyable evening. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster Bisque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I were in Ithaca for a college softball event and were looking for a place for lunch. I found this restaurant on Tripadvisor and thanks to all my fellow reviewers for pointing me to this gem. The atmosphere is wood – lots of wood paneling but for lunch it was not dark – plenty of light coming in through the big picture windows. Our cups of Lobster Bisque were excellent. Our sandwiches, the Rubin and the French Dip were both very good served with sweet potato fries. Service was fast and friendly both at the table and at the door. If you are looking for nice lunch in Ithaca, I’m with my fellow Tripadvior contributors - the Mahogany Grill is very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Actondad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“bacon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Bacon bloody Mary? YES PLEASE! Great mahogany burger too! Nice atmosphere and great bartending staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank starliet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Grill also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mahogany Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing