We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy but not snobby!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahogany Grill

Mahogany Grill
Ranked #6 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Towanda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy but not snobby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

When we go to Ithaca, the Mahogany Grill is always on our list of must-stops. We have never been disappointed. Whether we're their for just a quick drink at the bar or a full meal we have always had wonderful service, great food and great drinks. The atmosphere is classy but not snobby!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SavyShopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    154
    48
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Terrific wait staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our party of 8 had a great lunch. Everyone enjoyed their meal - burgers, pulled pork, fish sandwich. Sweet potato fries were a hit. Kudos to the wait staff - friendly, attentive, helpful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyExplorer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a garden burger with fries and a Greek salad. The salad was pretty nice and fresh, but the garden burger was burned with big grill marks all over it. I didn't go out to dinner to eat pieces of burnt veggie burger.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with delicious food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Mahogany Grill is a great place to visit while in Ithaca. Conveniently located on The Commons, both their food and drink menu is quite extensive! Try the Blue Corn Calamari with cilantro pesto appetizer! To die for! The Eggplant Stack Puttanesca is only fair but there are many other items to meet anyone's palate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ANewDayVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer
Level Contributor
397 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“wonderful meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family and I loved our food, there were no complaints. We visited on a Saturday evening so it was busy but we got in quickly. The Miso Ginger Marinated sea bass was cooked perfectly and I really couldn't have asked for anything better. The NY steak was also cooked perfectly with a deep rich flavor that we couldn't get enough of. We also tried the seafood chowder, plus the Blue Corn Calamari Smoked with chile and red pepper coils, cilantro pesto and cherry peppers was our favorite. We were very pleased with this visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boomerang025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Grill also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mahogany Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing