We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private event”

Carriage House Cafe
Ranked #31 of 267 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
LA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“private event”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We attended a private reception at the carriage house cafe and were very impressed by the service. The food was all very good and the wait staff was on top of everything. They were very willing to work with the hosts and get everything done just as they wanted it. Great place to hold a private event!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJBBEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriagehousecafe, Owner at Carriage House Cafe, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post up your review. We love working with our guests and strive to exceed their expectations. I will pass on your comments to our staff and we look forward to seeing you again!
Kristian Woodall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    48
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wedding reception”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A week ago we hosted a Saturday evening wedding reception (the wedding was overseas) for forty friends and family who hadn't made it to the wedding.
The cafe was very flexible and worked with us (including a discussion with the chef) to decide on the food to be served and even gave us the option of bringing our own desserts, which we (as avid bakers) did.
Setting up before the event was a breeze - we had brought flowers, desserts, and were also using the small stage, and the cafe's waitstaff gave us the room and supplies (trays, etc., for the desserts) to do our thing. During the event the waitstaff was present and unobstrusive, and nothing was missing.
We engaged a local singer (www.beverlystokesmusic.com) who sang and played guitar for an hourlong concert and was awesome! Highly recommended.
The space was perfect, everyone was happy with the food, the weather cooperated ... five stars!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yaeleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriagehousecafe, Event Coordinator at Carriage House Cafe, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind review. We greatly enjoyed hosting your special post wedding reception and working with your family to make the evening unique. I am glad to hear that you had a memorable experience. I will pass along your comments to the waitstaff as well as the chefs.
We hope to see you again sometime!
Jessica Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast, uneven service”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Visited for a Sunday brunch. Arrived about 15 min before opening an there were already about 10 people lined up. Limited selection, it appears to be by design to only serve what's fresh, but all seemed well prepared. Service was rather uneven, and had to track down the waiter to get more coffee and get the check. Will probably give it another try on some future visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misplacedmidwestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The inside of the restaurant is quaint and cozy. Come early or be prepared to wait. The service was excellent. The waitress was stellar. The coffee, cappuchino, and espresso were so good. The breakfast options were healthy and very well prepared. Spicy bison sausage was tasty. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dogeyedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast/brunch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's a great place for breakfast/brunch. We went there as our son was going to Cornell. Their breakfast menu is short, sweet but good. The atmosphere is good and their service is excelled. Coffee in New York is always good, so was it in Carriage house. I would recommend this one hands down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hvaidyanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage House Cafe also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Carriage House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing