We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't like this”

Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #147 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't like this”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

During our last day of our trip, we want to eat Japanese food & our GPS bring us to the downtown to this Japanese restaurant. When we enter the restaurant (7pm), no customers & no waiter there just some kids (restaurants owners' kids) sitting around. OMG, we think would the food be good? But, we are too tied to shop around again. Atmosphere, no good; food ok but TOO EXPENSIVE.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purple Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
400 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Taste of Japan”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Spicy tuna and salmon rolls were fresh and delicious!!! Bento lunch was also big, tasty and cheap. All-you-can-eat was only 25 dollars, great price comparing to what you get to order and their qualities. My favorite Japanese restaurant in Ithaca so far.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Average Quality”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Service was not very good, the servers were quite cold and not very helpful. The food quality was average. They have a good location in collegetown and it's nice that there is delivery. Too pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isbhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food...”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food is really good, but the place could be better. Too expensive for the experience. I would rather buy and take home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaremontiMkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“There are ONLY TWO places to eat sushi in Ithaca!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have lived in Ithaca the past 14 years, and the only where you can consistently get great sushi are Plum Tree and Sushi O Sake.

Hiro and David are the true sushi masters in Ithaca. Other places are haphazard at best.

My wife and I ate at Plum Tree last night. We sat at the sushi bar, chatted with the Hiro and his sushi chef staff. They're quite personable and immediately make you welcome.

The fish is always fresh as he gets it every other day and cuts it quite generously. I've eaten all over this hemisphere and no one cuts it more generously. We had chirashi and Hiro made us a special roll that added shrimp tempura to the fire dragon (see pic). All I can say is amazing!

Namé is quite welcoming. Jesse is a great server.

As an aside, we often get take out. Edmund and Chris are very fast and likable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing