We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Japan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant

Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #152 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
331 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Taste of Japan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Spicy tuna and salmon rolls were fresh and delicious!!! Bento lunch was also big, tasty and cheap. All-you-can-eat was only 25 dollars, great price comparing to what you get to order and their qualities. My favorite Japanese restaurant in Ithaca so far.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Average Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Service was not very good, the servers were quite cold and not very helpful. The food quality was average. They have a good location in collegetown and it's nice that there is delivery. Too pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isbhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food is really good, but the place could be better. Too expensive for the experience. I would rather buy and take home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaremontiMkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“There are ONLY TWO places to eat sushi in Ithaca!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have lived in Ithaca the past 14 years, and the only where you can consistently get great sushi are Plum Tree and Sushi O Sake.

Hiro and David are the true sushi masters in Ithaca. Other places are haphazard at best.

My wife and I ate at Plum Tree last night. We sat at the sushi bar, chatted with the Hiro and his sushi chef staff. They're quite personable and immediately make you welcome.

The fish is always fresh as he gets it every other day and cuts it quite generously. I've eaten all over this hemisphere and no one cuts it more generously. We had chirashi and Hiro made us a special roll that added shrimp tempura to the fire dragon (see pic). All I can say is amazing!

Namé is quite welcoming. Jesse is a great server.

As an aside, we often get take out. Edmund and Chris are very fast and likable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best sushi outside Manhattan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been eating here for years. We eat sushi weekly. Fish is fresh with a great variety.

I've eaten sushi on East and West coast, and all Ithaca sushi restaurants. Plum Tree is the best.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing