We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

Viva Taqueria & Cantina
Ranked #20 of 264 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stopped in for a late lunch. The pork posole was one of the best we've had and their house-made salsa and guacamole were very good. Decent bar will local brews on tap and a variety of tequilas. Mains were "lighter" than in most Tex-Mex restaurants, filling and tasty but didn't leave feeling stuffed. Service was very attentive but then again it was after the lunch rush so the restaurant was not that busy. Will certainly visit again when in the mood for Tex-Mex in Ithaca.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank misplacedmidwestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    130
    39
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegetarian Choices”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent meal here - my husband is vegetarian and this place does vegan with a lot of variety to choose from. Obviously a long-time favorite, as a relative who attended Cornell years ago recommended it, and the quality was still high. Margaritas were decent too! It was a bit noisy and we were seated at a two-topper which did not allow a lot of privacy, but hey, it's a college town. I just wouldn't go here if I was planning to have an intense quiet conversation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lively Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We tried Viva Cantina on the recommendation of a friend while visiting Ithaca. She steered us correctly. I was dining with my vegan sister, who sometimes has difficulty finding options at Mexican restaurants. However, the menu here contains a variety of offerings to satisfy carnivores, vegetarians, and vegans alike. My sister and I both tried the vegan enchiladas, and were treated to fresh, zesty ingredients in ample portions. The atmosphere is lively - we had to wait quite a while for a table, but enjoyed a margarita at the bar while doing so. Our service was a little rushed, understandable given the volume of customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very tasty and healthful Mexican inspired food”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The first thing one should bear in mind is that Viva isn't a Mexican restaurant. Instead it's Mexican inspired cuisine. With that out of the way, I can highly recommend the food and beverages here. You also have a choice of eating indoors in the restaurant side or if you are just grabbing a quick bite on the "taqueria" side. Oh, and one can enjoy any of the food outdoors as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

A large group of friends ate here on a busy Friday. Despite the long wait for a table, the staff was friendly and attentive. The menu is varied and everyone enjoyed their meals. I wish there were a Mexican restaurant this good at home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Taqueria & Cantina also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Viva Taqueria & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing