We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

Viva Taqueria & Cantina
Ranked #20 of 264 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Who knew that we'd find some of the best Mexican food ever in Ithaca! The service was excellent and the food was even better! The super nachos were just the right size (not overly huge) and every chip had cheese and other condiments on it. I hate when you get a huge plate and a third of the chips are dry. My wife had the fajita quesadilla which did not look like a traditional quesadilla. It was delicious. I had the super burrito and it too was excellent. The food seemed healthier than your standard Mexican fare and the veggies were very fresh. My dish came with carrots, onions and slaw which seemed odd when I ordered it. These sides were marinated in what i think was vinegar and some hot spices. All I can say is they were the best carrots and slaw I ever ate. They are not like anything you've had before. If I lived in Ithaca I would eat here several times a week! Go!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LM77WashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    130
    39
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had dinner there and although it was really busy the food came out fast and the service was great. The Guacamole was delicious. The only surprise was that you had to pay for chips and salsa if you want some. This is my first time at a Mexican restaurant that wasn't mainly a fast food where those items were extra. I got a Spinach Mexican salad with chicken and it was the best thing I've ever ordered at a Mexican place. Atmosphere was fun and lively; made it a little hard to heard conversations at the table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WheelsUp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good food and a nice experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had lunch there today fir our family of five .... food was excellent (especially the homemade chorizo), and service was great. Would definitely return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very crowded”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The food is very tasty but if you need something quick this is not the place to go they are always crowded and you often have to wait at least an hour.and the majority of the time there isn't enough seats but all in all the food is good

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get the chicken mole”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Casual and lively Mexican bar and restaurant with great outdoor seating. Order anything with the chicken mole! Very reasonably priced and very nice staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBLanghorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Taqueria & Cantina also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Viva Taqueria & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing