We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner Near Cornell” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeline's

Madeline's
Ranked #52 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: European, Asian, American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Madeline's is a Modern Asian fusion restaurant with a fun, contemporary vibe. Featuring award winning desserts and voted - Top NY State Romantic Eatery. At Madeline's, our unique approach to Euro-Asian Fusion cuisine results in a simplified elegance through distinctive and high quality ingredient combinations. In the bar, our specially trained mixologists have created an extensive list of eclectic and innovative hand-mixed cocktails, as well as an accessible wine and beer list that boasts the best of our regional wineries and breweries. Are you a Scotch lover? With over 50 to choose from, our well-educated bar and service staff can guide you to your traditional favorite, or a new experience. No trip to Madeline's would be complete without a visit to our DESSERT CASE. Continuously on the "Best of Ithaca" list for best desserts, Madeline's Owner and Executive Pastry Chef, Teresa Miller, will engage your senses with luxurious and mouthwatering indulgences made from the finest ingredients. Enjoy a casual cocktail on our seasonal outdoor patio, host your celebratory event with us, or join us for drink specials during our weekly Jazz Nights held every Thursday. We have live performances after dinner by 13 Degrees, featuring contemporary jazz. Come in and let our experienced chefs show you why Madeline's is one of the best restaurants in Ithaca. Our reputation precedes us, so reservations are recommended.
NYC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner Near Cornell”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We walked here from the Hilton Garden Inn while visiting Cornell and had a really nice dinner. For appetizers we had salad and samosas, all yummy; for entree we had the duck and steak and both were excellent. Too stuffed for dessert so I can't comment on that, but the waiter was great and if we are ever in Ithaca again we would for sure go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juliettegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    19
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
304 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had some yummy cakes for dessert at this in-town restaurant. The highlight was the carrot cake. It was super moist and dense with delicious cream cheese frosting. The red velvet cake was also good. The coconut cake was a bit disappointing. I really liked the toasted coconut on top but the cake itself was dry. We never got refills on our coffee which was disappointing. They had a good tea selection.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shampeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went to Madeline's for the first time for my 21st birthday with a few friends. We arrive at the restaurant and see that it is empty on one side, which soothed us because we didn't make reservations, since it was a Tuesday night. However, we were told we couldn't be seated until 9 due to a large, 70 person party coming in. We asked if we could be seated at the bar, and they went to check for us, since one person in our party wasn't 21. They said yes and we were seated right away!

It wasn't quite what I was expecting, but it was a wonderful experience! The bartender was amazing, and she served us and all the other customers in the restaurant with ease. She kept coming over the check on us, and let us take our time deciding on what we wanted. I ended up having a Ginger Pear Sidecar, which was divine, split some calamari with my boyfriend (was good, but not great), had some coconut shrimp which came with rice and a side cucumber salad (was great! Loved that they weren't fried shrimp, but were light and came in a delicious sauce). One of the other people in the group had duck, which was AMAZING.

We all got separate checks, and that was no problem for them. Our bartender just made sure to write it down at the beginning and kept us all in order.

The dessert we chose to share was a mango pastry and some vanilla ice cream, also really good. The whole night was wonderful, and I couldn't have asked for a better birthday dinner. Madeline's helped make a great night, even with the unexpected party that came in. I'm planning on going back for Valentine's Day weekend with my parents, that's how impressed I was!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kellymarie1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A taste of Ithaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Food is so good here and served with a flair in an "art museum- like atmosphere". It is a real culinary treat! Worth the trip from anywhere for a special occassion or just for a good dinner or brunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca, ny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't been here in a long time but I won't wait so long again. Food was delicious and service perfect. And save room for dessert.

Helpful?
Thank realdruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madeline's also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Madeline's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing