We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So/so Thai Food”
Review of Taste of Thai

Taste of Thai
Ranked #57 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cooperstown, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So/so Thai Food”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were walking through Downtown Ithaca and decided to get dinner here. My son's Pad Thai was okay, other diners meals were somewhat better. I decided to order a dish called "Mom's Chicken Cashew Special" (or best I can remember from last night). It was truly terrible. Chicken was fried, tough lumps in a tamarind "sauce" that was not for the faint of heart. No vegetables in the dish. Service was okay...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    22
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Delicious tasting food with highly attentive service. We enjoy Thai food and this is a place worth frequent visits to try different menu items. We had Nam Khao Tod and Pad Thai. Nice spiciness and distinctive flavors

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
167 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful and spicy!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful meal! I started with the Tom Yum with vegetables which had such a lovely flavor of lemongrass. Then I had Ped Pak with tofu because I love kaffir lime...also excellent. I love all the options from adding meat to tofu to vegetables...great for meat eaters, vegetarians and vegans.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Quite surprised at the other reviews here - are we talking about the same place in the Ithaca Commons? Went there for dinner on a Friday night with my in-laws who are Thai and they loved it (the place was packed as well). Authentic taste and they don't hold back on the spice - go for Level 5 only if you REALLY can take it! So happy with the food that we went back for lunch the next day. Had a variety of dishes over the 2 meals - mains, noodles, rice, curry, laab and everything was good! Even if this restaurant was in Asia, it would really be able to contend with some of the Thai restaurants that we have here. Excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thai lunch on the Commons”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Can be a bit hit-or-miss, though never terrible and is still a favorite lunch option in downtown Ithaca. Sometimes it can be very spicy hot, so order on the mild end if you want to be spared.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Thai also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Taste of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing