We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal and nice atmosphere”
Review of The Boatyard Grill

The Boatyard Grill
Ranked #4 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Boatyard Grill you can enjoy delicous locally sourced steak and seafood while looking out over the breathtaking waterfront view. All of our food comes in fresh everyday, you won't find a better dining experience in the town. We are happy to host large groups and private events. If you are planning a rehearsal dinner, wedding reception, family gathering, cocktail party, class reunion or a casual BBQ or Clambake, look no further! We will make your special event a waterfront event to remember! Our experienced management team will make planning your event virtually effortless. We have a variety of party offerings that can meet every budget and catering need. Choose from our Waterfront Parties, Holiday Parties and Cocktail Parties and contact our management team today. Join us for live music on our deck every Friday! Visit our website to see the schedule.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great meal and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We dined here over the weekend after spending a day out at the falls and wineries. We shared an appetizer of buffalo chicken egg rolls and they were delicious! Piping hot and very tasty. We both ordered burgers for our meal and we totally enjoyed them. They were cooked to our specifications and tasted great!

I highly recommend a visit here if you are in the Ithaca area. The views are great too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joenronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    277
    123
    41
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome meal!!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to dine. The food options and portions are excellent! Steaks and seafood are delicious. Save room
for dessert. Cheesecake and molten chocolate cake are the best! Great place to relax and enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sid111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
“Delicous!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful atmosphere and their dinner is absolutely delicious. A little pricy but worth it if you're looking for a treat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Fair Food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Boatyard Grill is one of our favorite places to stop and enjoy a cocktail at when in the Ithaca area touring the fabulous Finger Lakes Wineries. At the southern tip of beautiful Cayuaga Lake, you can enjoy the large outside patio and bar area when weather permits and watch boaters and kayakers going by, or the spacious wooden beamed with nautical decor such as full size wooden canoes hanging from the walls on the interior. A large bar area is to the left as you enter past the hostess stand which resembles the bow section of an old wooden power boat. The dining areas are two sections, one towards the lake down a couple of steps and the other to the right of the bar and lounge area. Service both at the hostess stand and bar was quick and very friendly. On a busy Friday night with folks lined up at the waiting area just before the hostess stand we got a table for two in 25 minutes. Our waitress was at our table as soon as we were seated and was very pleasant. I ordered a specialty hamburger (10oz) that came with seasoned fries for $10.95 and my wife ordered crab cakes at I believe were $16.95. All I can say is my burger was just about the worst hamburger I've ever encountered at a restaurant. Though a tad over cooked (medium) the meat was extremely dry and tasteless. Thank goodness for the bacon and pepper jack cheese on it, otherwise I could of had a cardboard sandwich. Fries were pretty good but they were only warm so the dish must of sat on the order up shelf in the kitchen before brought out to our table. My wife did enjoy her crab cakes and cleaned her plate. I tasted them and thought they were very fishy tasting. This was our second meal we have had at Boatyard Grill and both times we were not impressed with the quality of food. However, because of its location, outside bar and patio area and cozy warm interior we will continue to stop for cocktails and perhaps at most an appetizer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trever08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have eaten here several times with family or friends. It is consistently good with a varied menu. There is also outside dining and docking for those who come by boat. I would recommend reservations as it is often crowded, especially during the summer and big college weekends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank widgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Grill also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Boatyard Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing