We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch with their usual varied selections”

Moosewood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Moosewood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Lunch with their usual varied selections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had an interesting and delicious new salad with great service and atmosphere. A place we frequent every time we go to Ithaca. Won't disappoint!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    215
    138
    54
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome - Lives up to the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went for a last-minute Saturday lunch. While it was busy, we didn't have to wait for a table outside. Service was friendly and the food was super-delicious. My husband was leery of the vegetarian menu but he even raved and didn't miss the meat. I had a salad and an asparagus frittata. He had asparagus soup, salad, and pizza special. I was inspired to buy a Moosewood cookbook before we left.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank drawingdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Still Great Vegetarian Food After All These Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have been to Moosewood for decades now, and they still retain a number of their original characteristics: Wonderful, healthy, creative vegetarian food at very reasonable prices. This trip I found the same feeling of delight and enjoyment of the food I have found here for many years (this is their 40th anniversary in business). Always excellent food, and still a relaxed, hippie-ish vibe among their wait staff - who we found to be quite nice, if a bit laid back. No worries, they deliver the food and proper attention just fine. What has changed over the decades is that the original restaurant has been expanded two times, and is now quite lovely inside, with an awning covered deck for those warm Ithaca days. This is still an oasis of outstanding vegetarian food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGuy03049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Legendary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Legendary for a reason. At first I thought the staff seemed a little crusty but they really warmed up when we engaged them in conversation about the history of this landmark restaurant. Love the limited menu idea - otherwise - how could you ever choose! The food was amazing - literally. I would never have believed the complexity and excitement of flavors to be encountered in vegetarian cuisine. Fantasizing about our next rendezvous!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taraleecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's all true..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

For years we've heard and read great reviews of the Moosewood and they're absolutely true! Our lunch delicious and our server Cori made us feel very special. What more can I say...delicious, unique and a lovely setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda and Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moosewood Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Moosewood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing