We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moosewood Restaurant

Moosewood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Moosewood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ithaca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Reliable, consistent and healthy. For all the quality vegetarian food available in Ithaca, Moosewood kind of feels like I am eating dinner at a friend's house in grad school. I like the food, but it just can't compete with the rest of the gems around here. I think this is a place living off of a lot of nostalgia, which is still pretty cool.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tikkatikka8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    214
    137
    54
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
304 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Wonderful vegetarian dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a delicious vegetarian dinner here, including a salmon dish that they only serve on weekends. We started with mixed olives and marinated chickpeas as appetizers. Entrees come with salad with a choice of several delicious dressing options. We liked the spinach basil and the feta/garlic. The salmon was super yummy. We also enjoyed the mixed vegetarian platter. Service was good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shampeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was 36 years ago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had been wanting to return. We were visiting some friends last summerl and stopped in for a nice lunch. Where it was good to revisit an old haunt the, food did not have the same quality it did back then. Good salad and soup though. Love my old cookbooks though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albequerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I'd heard lots of good things about Moosewood and we were looking forward to our meal. Our starters were very good with plenty of flavour but my daughter's main course was bland. My main course of salmon was cooked to perfection but the flavour was overwhelmed by the coconut covering. Overall we couldn't fault the service and the food was pretty good but it wasn't exceptional and not quite what we were expecting

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“E for Effort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I really respect what Moosewood has been doing for decades- making good food with no meat. However, it felt like it was lacking since the last time I was there, and the menu is a little slap-dash and tired. It was still good, though service was a little lacking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moosewood Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Moosewood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing