We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a cultural institution”

Moosewood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Moosewood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 268 Restaurants in Ithaca
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's a cultural institution”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place has a warm, unpretentious atmosphere. Everyone is so friendly and open. You get the feeling they're sharing a meal with you not operating a restaurant.
The added bonus is that there's great food that's well prepared, healthy and so delicious. Each day they have a new menu a few choices which means they're free to truly focus on these specific meals.
I bought 2 cookbooks for friends who are vegetarians/pescatarians and they've already tested them out and love the recipes.
Just a great experience and wonderful food. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lackrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    228
    146
    56
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff; Excellent Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very good meal with my Vegetarian Fiance at Moosewood. THe service was excellent, and we were seated and served in a timely manner despite Saturday night crowd. We had the vegatable lasagna. Very satisfying meal; which was a concern of mine (being a non Veggie)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DSL107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Like many others we have one of their cookbooks and when I learned that the restaurant was located in Ithaca, my wife and I just had to go and try it out. I was very impressed with the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. From what I understand, they change their menu twice a day, every day. What I found to be highly commendable was their efforts to source locally as much as possible. Get there early (by 5pm) as it fills up fast and the wait can get long. Definitely try their vegan chocolate cake (taste even better than the real thing) and have a cup of hot ginger tea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yan8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classic vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We've been to Moosewood several times, and it is consistently fresh and tasty. Even members of our family who are not used to eating vegetarian cuisine can find items on the menu that satisfy their taste buds. They do sometimes sell out of certain entrees later in the day and there is often a wait for seating during peak times, but don't let this discourage you, for Moosewood is worth the wait. Their cookbooks are excellent. We have three of them and make their recipes at home regularly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank maria_and_carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Get there early!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

As the title says, get there early if you don't want to wait too long. The Moosewood is a local institution and doesn't take reservations, at opening time the people are lined up to get their names on the seating list. I will say it is worth the wait though. The fresh menu changes every day, and while the menu is not large what items they do have were all excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moosewood Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Moosewood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing