We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic”

Moosewood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Moosewood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had the salad with the house dressing - I love salad and I can honestly say this was the best I'd ever had! I also tried the tofu, which had a chewier consistency than other tofu I have had although I ended up enjoying that immensely as well. I also had a fresh squeezed carrot and lime juice which was fantastic. The menu changes frequently so there is always something new to be had. They offer discount days for seniors, students, teachers, etc. so it is worth visiting their website to take advantage of these offers. I will be back the next time I am in Ithaca.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunDaisy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    215
    138
    54
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'll admit, Moosewood Restaurant is probably not for everyone. If you are craving a steak or would prefer cheese-smothered entries, Moosewood is not for you. However, if you enjoy eating healthy and love your vegetables, then give it a try. I've been to Moosewood several times now. I also own several of the cookbooks. I love it! The menu choices are unique and vary each day. There always seems to be a fish option. They also have a good kid's menu that is healthier than what you typically get at other restaurants. I love Moosewood's and will go back every time I'm in Ithaca.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahbethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going back for the 2nd time !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was visiting the area in August 2012 and stopped by for dinner. Excellent food and service. Heading up there again this month and making sure our trip includes Moosewood's. Hard to find a place to eat that serves great healthy food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So excited to finally visit...well worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was so excited when my daughter chose to visit Ithaca College because it meant a chance to have dinner at the Moosewood. I have been collecting their cookbooks for years and served countless numbers of their dishes to my friends and families. The experience was just as it should be - delicious, friendly, and fully satisfying! We had been warned to come early on a Friday night (they do not take reservations). We walked in at 5:20 and were the 3rd party on the list (they open for seating at 5:30). While waiting you can enjoy browsing their cookbook selection or take a seat at the bar. While the menu is limited in selections (changed daily and per meal), there were options for every taste and diet (I am gluten-free, no problem!). I opted for the Moroccan Stew - delicious, hearty, and well-paired with a glass of the local chardonnay. My daughter opted for the Pasta Marsala, which she loved. The salad dressings were also delicious - garlic feta and the houses spinach-basil. The spinach-basil was unlike anything we have ever tried. When I asked which cookbook it was from (we were still deciding which one to buy), they promptly brought me a copy and told me I could take a picture of the recipe with my smartphone! Very cool! Desert was delicious and the service was spot-on. Of course, we added to our cookbook collection - I can't wait to try out a new round of Moosewood favorites at home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank honeysucklerose24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moosewood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a gourmet restaurant that serves health food. I LOVE this restaurant! If people are visting Ithaca for the first time. This is one of Ithaca's oldest and best restaurants. Wait staff is also terrific. When you are finished you can tour the bookshop in the restaurant for a cookbook. And you can vist Dewitt Mall or Ithaca guitar next door. Great FOOD.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moosewood Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Moosewood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing