We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad room, bad service, bad experience altogether” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad room, bad service, bad experience altogether”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The toilet leaked water all over the floor. When we notified guest services, they sent a maintenance person immediately, rather than ask when a convenient time for us would be. We had to wait in the room to be able to take showers and get ready for our day while he worked on it, interrupting our plans. We asked to be switched into another room, but were told we had to check out and come back by 2PM to check into a new room, which would have interrupted our day plans, the only reason we were there. The maintenance person was unable to fix the problem while we waited, so he placed a rag on the floor to soak up the water and said he'd be back. The rag was still there when we came back that night. Housekeeping had not come to our room, made our beds, or replaced our towels. Water dripped onto the toilet, and anyone using it, from a vent above the toilet. As we communicated our issues to guest services throughout our stay, no one ever really did anything to address them, improve our stay, or even apologize for the inconveniences. The response I received to one phone call was a simple, "Alrighty." I've had a better experience at the motel down the road than I had at this hotel. As a Marriott Rewards member, I was actually staying there for free and I wouldn't go back. This felt more like Marriott Punishment program. Room issues are one things, but indifferent service, or lack thereof, is inexcusable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
I am very sorry that your experience with us was so far below expectations. I value your time and your feedback. We have worked hard to correct the errors that allowed the problems with your room to go unaddressed during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of any additional assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    77
    20
    2
    7
See reviews for
98
51
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
268 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this brand new hotel for Cornell's homecoming weekend and liked it very much. It's further from campus than many of the other hotels, but not so far as to be a problem. And it's near lots of stores and restaurants, and not far from the beautiful parks in the area. We were upgraded to a suite, which was lovely and spacious, but there wasn't a full wall with a door separating the bedroom from the living area. The room had a refrigerator and microwave as well as a coffee maker. The staff was very friendly and eager to please. A good buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. There's a small fitness room with two treadmills and one elliptical machine, but not even one exercise bike. And there's a small indoor pool which is fine for kids to splash in, but not big enough for adults who want to swim laps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobbstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. Thank you for your honest feedback. Space restrictions did require us to scale down the exercise room and the size of the pool. Please feel free to conatct me directly if I may be of any additional assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here recently on a brief trip to Ithaca. It is a nice new hotel, only two weeks old when we stayed there. The staff was extremely helpful and cheerful (overly so?). It is in a very nice location, more or less directly adjacent to Buttermilk Falls State Park, near several major shopping centers and a goodly number of restaurants. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. It's clear that some thought went into this new generation of appointments: lots and lots of outlets including on night tables. Just what is needed for the electronics we all now drag around with us. Excellent desk design. Colorful lobby with a beautiful backdrop to the front desk. Very interesting to stay at a hotel so new and so well thought out. Typical and lovely breakfast and very nice, fast free wifi. I would give them a 5 but for two things which I found really sort of odd:
1. No bath mat in our bathroom and no place for them to have left one. We used a hand towel as a stand in on the cold tile floor. Somewhat of a strange oversight. At the point we discovered this we really didn't have the time or patience to call or run down to the front desk to ask for one.
2. Possibly the worst soap I've ever gotten in a hotel. This is really odd because I've never had anything similar ever happen, but I found the soap to be simply awful. It had an odd consistency and smell that made me not want to use it at all (but alas I had no choice).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darylqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Ithaca and for your honest review of our property. I apologize that you did not have a bath mat. Every room is supposed to have one either on the edge of the tub or over the shower door. We are certainly experiencing some growing pains during our first month of operation and it's being reminded of our short comings that allows us to improve and ensure that every guest's stay is perfect. The soap we carry is the standard for our brand but I will investigate alternatives.

Our design was created to cater to the modern traveler, with multiple electronic devices and anticipate their needs.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property and please keep us in mind if your travels bring you to Cornell University, Ithaca College or the Finger Lakes area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Ithaca area. It is brand new, very clean and the breakfast was more than we needed. We were visiting Cornell and its just a short ride away. The front desk staff said they are getting a shuttle soon, which would be very convenient for running around town or to the college.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Ithaca. We are hoping to have a shuttle by the beginning of October, thank you for your patience. The shuttle will be a great addition for rides to the colleges, airport or the Commons. Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you to Cornell University, Ithaca College or the beautiful Finger Lakes area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nfo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I got to enjoy a brand new hotel opened just a week ago... very nice locations close to 2 state parks and shopping/restaurants... some finishing touches still needed to be completed and another waffle maker in the morning breakfast will really be useful... I also got to meet pretty much all the front desk staff that i found extremely and willing to always help in making your vacation a better one. Keep up the great job.
hotel does have an indoor swimming pool, very small but still enjoyable
Definitely recommend for stays in Ithaca...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myfotostudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Ithaca. You'll be happy to know that we took your advice and have added a second waffle iron to our breakfast buffet. They are extremely popular and this has really cut down on the wait time. My staff is always willing to go that extra mile to make each guest's stay perfect. Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you Cornell University, Ithaca College or the Finger Lakes area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Location is very central. All the employees are very helpful and happy to be there. Everything is brand new and very modern style including the rooms. Pool is quite small but clean.
We dealt with a few employees who made our good stay even better by helping us with anything we needed. The front desk manager was a delight to interact with throughout our stay. He was very knowledgeable and professional. The bellman, Fraser, was very helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robformisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Ithaca. I'm very proud of all of my staff. Ken, my Front Desk manager, and Frazier are always happy to help our guests in any way to make their stay more enjoyable. We are centrally located so remember that we are always available when your travels bring you to Cornell University, Ithaca College or the Finger Lakes area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is a purpose-built chain motel but a very good one. The place had only been open 5 days when we stayed so unsurprisingly it looks great. Sheets and towels were crisp and fresh. Room was faultlessly clean. Better than average breakfast buffet. Friendly helpful staff. Quiet and restful night's sleep. The only criticism, and this is nobody's fault, is that the newness meant our room had quite a chemical smell from all the new furnishings, decorating materials etc. We had to leave the window open but by the time you read this that's probably fading already. Good choice place to stay in Ithaca.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the end of the building furthest from the road for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PF2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your honest review and for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Ithaca. That "new hotel smell" has faded but the breakfast is still hot and delicious. Please think of us anytime your travels bring you to Cornell University, Ithaca College or the Finger Lakes area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
1.5 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
2.4 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Address: 359 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-5103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing