We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great escape for school visit or just to unwind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa
Ranked #1 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
“Great escape for school visit or just to unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Private Hotel + Pure Food is just the right place to escape and unwind. The property is magnificent and the scenery is beautiful. The accommodations are excellent and out of the ordinary. Breakfast is whatever you request. Really, whatever you are in the mood for Michael will prepare. He is there to please from the moment you arrive until you unfortunately have to leave. Private Hotel + Pure Food is a gem.

Room Tip: Michael, a renaissance man if ever there was one, recommended The Blue Room in The Barn. It was spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_Jerold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
163
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the "Lamp House" while visiting Ithaca. It is a beautiful, small room with a great bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and the location was a quick drive into the heart of Ithaca.

We suggest checking out the farmer's market when you visit.

We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at this inn and the overall experience was very good. The grounds are lovely, the room clean and cozy, the breakfast terrific and the proximity to universities (Cornell and Ithaca College) and parks excellent. The only drawback was that the toilet and sink are actually in the room (Pondview Room) and not a separate bathroom. This is not an issue if you are alone, but this is not an ideal situation for every couple, even though there was a curtain for some privacy. The outdoor hot tub and sauna were a nice bonus.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Owner at Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
While these guests' overall experience was very good, I regret they had an issue with regard to the room's layout, although the layout is accurately described on the website and again during the reservation process as having an in-room curtained toilet and lavatory with a white marble shower closet. This is a very European feature which might seem unusual to those who may not have had the opportunity to travel abroad.

Thank you, Michael Casper, CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for a night, but wished we could have stayed for a week. The surroundings were beautiful, room and bed just perfect, and the host, Michael, just engaging, charming and accommodating. The breakfast was out of this world, and I wish we did not have to leave...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently visited our son who is in college in Ithaca and stayed at Private Hotel/Pure Food. Michael, our host, greeted us a we pulled in, gave us a tour and met all of our needs. The property is very well maintained and the room (the Gables in the Log house) was impeccably clean and spacious. We particularly loved the tub and the tiger wood. The scenery was very nice and we had the opportunity to hike around the property. The breakfast is awesome-it was so good we wished that they served dinner! We will definitely stay there again!

Lisa and Sheldon

Room Tip: We loved he Gables room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms where clean. Scenery was beautiful. Michael did everything and anything to help us enjoy our weekend. He really went out if his way. We could call him anytime and he always answered no matter what questions we had. His breakfast buffet was awesome. Anything you wanted he cooked it. All healthy and organic it was one of the best breakfast meals I ever had . He recommended places for us to go and all places where excellent. We will definitely be going back soon. Thank you very much Michael.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyinlove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Michael is an excellent host.
Our experience was topnotch perfection from reservation to breakfast on departure.
Extremely beautiful well-kept property with accommodation to match.
Highly recommended and we look forward to a return stay.
Jim&Cori

Room Tip: Any room would be perfect. The property is lovely and deserves walking about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aircobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
6.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
4.5 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
3.3 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa

Property: Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa
Address: 429 Bostwick Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael Casper, an entrepreneurial hotelier and restaurateur, recently opened Private Hotel and Pure Food. This unique, small boutique hotel, with chef's private kitchen, is tucked away in the countryside just outside downtown Ithaca. Fusing post, beam, pole, log and contemporary architecture, the newly opened hotel has received rave reviews for its sensitive and sophisticated style. The common areas are comfortable and homey, accented by Michael’s sense of whimsy. A chef in his own right, Michael creates and prepares a unique menu comprised of organic and vegan ingredients that are primarily locally grown and harvested. An ecclectic combination of rustic and refined, sophisticated and casual, modern yet remote, Private Hotel and Pure Food appeals to the discerning individual who desires high end appointments, the finest in bedding and linen, and the world’s freshest and healthiest food ... all provided in a serene, tranquil environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing