We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high on a mountain, overlooking the Ithaca valley”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa
Ranked #1 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Pollywogg Holler Eco-Resort
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“high on a mountain, overlooking the Ithaca valley”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife Barbara and I mutually felt that we had finally discovered a destination that we had been seeking for years. Surrounded within an enchanted forest, high on a mountain, overlooking the Ithaca valley, Private Hotel & Pure Food provided a wonderful feeling of a lofty hidden retreat. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner/designer/ multi-talented builder with a very unique vision of creating a magical place that reals with healthy vibrations, privacy and unique accommodations, definitely no cookie cutter anything. The delicious multi-coarse meals had a glow of healthy eating. Most gracious owner/host, Michael and his charming wife were the perfect host and a true inspiration. We feel that our trip here is like the first day of a wonderful new friendship.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
163
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Candor, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our experience was one we will never forget. The property is a real gem. Each room has it's own theme all decorated and furnished in high quality. Michael is one of the most unique individuals we have ever met. He is the perfect host. He will make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Be prepared for a fantastic breakfast. Michael is an artist in the kitchen and will serve you your personalized meal. We will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: If you are staying as a solo or on business consider staying in the main building. If you wish a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last time I saw Mike Casper was in 1995 when he owned a European style cafe in Cornell's Collegetown serving the best food in Ithaca. I had business at the Hotel School and through the grapevine heard that he had opened an outrageous European style hotel. I spent two nights at Michael's Private Hotel. The food was as good as his cafe and the room was a piece of fine art. If you are in the area you will want to experience this!

Room Tip: Each room is completely unique. Ask to see several before you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I selected this "B&B" for character, architecture, and location (deep in the woods). I was extremly happy with the room. The shower had 5 nozzles hitting me at once.

the great room hgt, decor, and design was memorizing.
Michael made a creative breakfat every morning...much more than I could eat. One evening before bed, I asked for eggs over easy. He pondered all night now to put a mediterranean flair on this simple request. It was amazing. I love trying new places and this B&B was memorable.

I was warned to bring a AWD or 4WD vehicle in winter...well it snowed and i could not get out of driveway for work. Out comes Michael with chains and 4WD truck to pull my Toyata out, backwards, attached to rear hitch of my car.

Michael is multi-talented and a pleasure to talk too. Restarant recomdations were spot on.
i loved the coffee as well.
i will be back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My significant other and I needed time away from home before the end of the semester and finals. We were looking for a cozy place for two to enjoy the weekend- a place for relaxation and reflection. Not really knowing what to expect, we were blown away by this B&B!

The B&B is about ten miles outside of Ithaca, and the estate consists of over 100 acres of wooded land. The location is just far away from town to be private, but near enough town to be able to attend an evening concert series at school or to dine downtown (though you are not likely to do these because once you set foot here, you will not want to leave). If you enjoy the outdoors, then watching the night sky at this B&B, during a cool, spring night, is by itself worth the stay. Alternatively, you can enjoy the early morning hours walking through the woods, down by the creek, or up the overseeing cliff point.

The cabin is spacious (high ceilings), well furnished, and includes state-of-the-art appliances. From contemporary kitchen appliances and heated floors to precious stone collections and tapestries, you have the furnishings and tools to feel right at home. Moreover, Michael’s hospitality is warm and welcoming. You will feel the need to extend your stay longer than planned!

Overall, we got more in return than what we paid for. Do yourself a favor and enjoy the quiet of upstate New York with your loved one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Surprisingly close to both the Ithaca College and Cornell campuses, this property provided a unique and quiet getaway. The newly appointed rooms were spacious and warm, the made to order breakfasts delicious and the personal attention unpretentious. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had business that brought me to Ithaca, several days prior to driving up from New York City I found Private Hotel while doing a Google search. After a pleasant 4+ hour drive I pulled into the driveway. Unlike past experiences that I have had at other country inns I was extremely surprised to find a group of newly built structures with a well manicured lawns in the middle of the woods. The front door was left open for me, when I walked in my mind was blown. Staring up to a two story high cathedral ceiling in a room of rich wood paneling with unique one of a kind European poster art, prehistoric artifacts. My room had a bathroom the size of some boutique hotel rooms in NYC! The towels were fresh and of the standard of a Five Star Hotel and the shower would have been adequate had it been half the size. The warmth of the giant wood stove made the living room warm, inviting and cozy. The hosts insisted that I "relax, make yourself at home and consider yourself family"! First time I ever heard that one. Michael recommended "Just a Taste" a small tapas restaurant in downtown Ithaca which was better than perfect. I slept like like I was dead and resurrected in the morning. For breakfast I had Michael as my private chef doing his organic vegan and absolutely fresh, fruit, grain and freshly pressed nut milk special. All I can say is perfect, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
7.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
10.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa

Property: Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa
Address: 429 Bostwick Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael Casper, an entrepreneurial hotelier and restaurateur, recently opened Private Hotel and Pure Food. This unique, small boutique hotel, with chef's private kitchen, is tucked away in the countryside just outside downtown Ithaca. Fusing post, beam, pole, log and contemporary architecture, the newly opened hotel has received rave reviews for its sensitive and sophisticated style. The common areas are comfortable and homey, accented by Michael’s sense of whimsy. A chef in his own right, Michael creates and prepares a unique menu comprised of organic and vegan ingredients that are primarily locally grown and harvested. An ecclectic combination of rustic and refined, sophisticated and casual, modern yet remote, Private Hotel and Pure Food appeals to the discerning individual who desires high end appointments, the finest in bedding and linen, and the world’s freshest and healthiest food ... all provided in a serene, tranquil environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing