We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“. This” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“. This”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Ithaca is in the middle of nowhere and when it's a pick up or drop off weekend, hotel prices skyrocket in this area. This hotel was on a major road and you could hear the traffic, so ask for a room on the back side! The 24 hr bar is always a plus and clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    215
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
303
120
33
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

In most ways this is a typical Hampton Inn, maybe even slightly nicer. But it's on a heavily trafficked part of Route 13 (burdened by Wegman's and some of the other big box stores on that side of the outskirts of town). And Ithaca hotels usually benefit from being near the hotel school at Cornell--or at least that's been part of my explanation for generally fine service in them. No such luck here, at least not during our 3-night stay: the front desk folks seemed consistently clueless about where to park, cancellation rules, etc. And when I made the mistake of forgetting something in the room after checkout and following the front desk's instruction to leave a message with Housekeeping, no one called me back, and after I called again almost a week later it took several more days before the item was sent to me. Still, when I followed up a last time, a front desk manager handled things courteously and efficiently. So there's nothing I'd call bad here (exception the location), and the place looked the way the other reviews suggest. But if I had a choice (if the price were around the same) between here and the Homestead suites on the same main route but on the other side of town, or even between here and the Courtyard out by the airport, let alone between here and the downtown hotels, I wouldn't stay here again. (We stayed here this time because all the others were full.)

Room Tip: We were glad we had requested an upstairs room: 13 gets pretty busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gitful_nedboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I am in Ithaca on a regular basis, and this hotel is probably the best budget (around hotel in the city. It is NOT right downtown, but you can easily drive there by car.

Clean. Comfortable. Hot breakfast. Pool. Wi-Fi. Not super luxurious, but has everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Food-Nature-Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for just one night on our trip to Ithaca. Normally we stay at another hotel nearby, but it was booked, so we thought the Hampton Inn would be a suitable substitute. The hotel is in a very convenient location, very close to the commons and the lake. The hotel was very tidy and looked well kept. The room itself was comfortable- but I thought it was a bit dated. The sofa looked beyond used, and the bed was uncomfortable, as you could feel the springs in the mattress. The t.v.remote was also pretty gross, with something we couldn't identify on it... My only real concern was the bathroom- there were a few hairs that were not ours on the floor and in the tub, and the shower head was awful- a real joke.
If this hotel was just updated in a few key areas, it would be worth the price. However, as is, I would not recommend this hotel over the Comfort Inn located just down the road.

Room Tip: get a room in the back, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place is a great base for a biking trip to the Finger Lakes. The rooms were comfortable and clean. There was a nice warm pool to use at the end of our biking day. And best of all a full and hearty breakfast with many choices for our next day's outing.The rates were reasonable and it was fairly close to Lake Cayuga.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerchik59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one night only- 6/21/12- in the room with the jacuzzi. The room wasn't massive, but had absolutely everything you could need, including a large walk-in shower, flat screen tv, and closet hidden by a large full length mirror. The jacuzzi itself was wonderful-plenty of room for two and 2 jet buttons. Very comfortable. Bed was amazingly comfortable as well, with a clean white comforter on top rather than the tacky ugly bedspreads you usually get. They have a nice little indoor pool and gym, although I didn't use either. Breakfast area was clean and well stocked and the front desk personnel were friendly. It's also very centrally located. I would definitely go back to this hotel if I find myself in the Ithaca area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hauntcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

As always with this chain, the hotel was clean comfortable and well appointed. Liked some of the extra "user friendly" touches like extra hooks in the bathroom for re-using towels, clean duvet covers and a night light built in to the iron holder. And cookies and coffee available all day - take that Doubletree. Staff was friendly. Location is easily accessible. Close to shopping. Only drawback- because of the scarcity of hotel rooms in Ithaca - hotels are very expensive. We were on a college campus tour with my daughter and paid twice as much for a night here as we had 1 month ago in a Hampton Inn near Rochester.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drjamesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.2 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ithaca

Property: Hampton Inn Ithaca
Address: 337 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-5103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#4 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ithaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing