We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise in downtown Ithaca!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The William Henry Miller Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Lynette is a knowledgeable and very friendly hostess. She makes you feel welcome and relaxed the minute you enter! Coffee and tea are always available 24/7, and a mid-evening freshly made dessert sits nearby tempting the palette! Two living room/dens are open downstairs for enjoyment and conversation and just sipping coffee!

Room Tip: Ask for Dane's Room. It is spacious, at the top of the stairs, and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lefty303, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We so appreciate your kind review!
I am delighted that you are happy with the twenty-four hour coffee and tea selection. We try to have as many options as possible with syrups; assortment of teas and even homemade marshmallows for the hot chocolate.
My personal love is a good cup of coffee and our guests can always find that and some sort of goodie (especially on the dessert buffet at night).
Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 263 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Lynette Scofield's William Henry Miller's Inn this past week. We were travelling with our two Lakeland Terriers. Lynette is a wonderful host, genuinely kind-hearted and attentive. Our rooms (we stayed in the Suite in the carriage house) were extremely comfortable and warm.The breakfasts were imaginative and scrumptious. We want to go back to this Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lefty303, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks so much for your review!
We love dogs and we sure did love yours! Millie (our resident rescue) and Eduardo The Cat (he really does love dogs too) are thrilled that you visited.
And so glad that you enjoyed breakfasts! It is such a fun part of our job to come up with fun and delicious ideas for our guests.
Thanks again and from Millie, "woof"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Have stayed here many times and many more to come. Located in the heart of Ithaca, NY great location for lots of events downtown and surrounding area. Each room has it's own personality, we stayed in the Libarary, has a fireplace and a corner room, it was great.
The breakfast was to die for, every morning something that you can not imagine, nor get at any resturant, wow, all of it was great. Lynette and Dave are fantastic Inn Keepers with your every wish a positive experience.
Once you stay here, you will not want to stay anywhere else in Ithaca, great stay!

Room Tip: Plan ahead, they are fully booked quite often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByronS564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I went to the William Henry Miller Inn for our wedding night. We love it there!! Lynette does such a wonderful job making sure you have everything you need and makes it incredibly special!! She even had a bottle of sparkling cider on ice ready in our room on arrival! Make sure to try the home made desserts in the evening before bed!! Amazing! And the best breakfast you'll ever have! Thank you so much for an unforgettable night and the great conversation after breakfast! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: The Sanctuary room has a double jacuzzi tub which is perfect for a romantic evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee032569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This B & B is the perfect combination of a stately home with beautiful woodwork, stained glass, and an inviting decor. Hostess Lynette greets guests with genuine warmth and is an excellent ambassador for the city of Ithaca.

The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Breakfasts were phenomenal with well balanced, interesting flavors, like honeydew melon with homemade lime ice cream and scrambled eggs in a wonton wrapper with apple sausage. Coffee is available all day, and homemade desserts are prepared for each evening, perfect for winding down the day.

While the location is conveniently steps away from the Commons and most restaurants and pubs, it also means that students will be out in force on the weekends, making the night and early morning hours a bit noisy. Light sleepers will want extra help getting to and staying asleep.

All in all, the experience was lovely and very nicely complemented the Ithaca experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halotycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a beautiful Inn. The location is in town and within walking distance from local shopping and restaurants. The staff is warm and friendly and very accommodating.The food selection and preparation was excellent. It was easy to feel at home here.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Quarters was one of the quietest rooms in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYJIM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ever since the day i first laid eyes on this beautiful historic building i have been in love with it. I finally got the chance to stay here for two nights and was not disappointed. The house is as beautiful from the inside as it is from without, with tasteful decorations and amazing historic furniture. The Lady of the house is wonderful and makes it a point to make every guest feel welcome and happy. Breakfast is to die for and consist of a freshly prepared two course meal and there is always a choice between two different main dishes. A desert buffet is presented to the guests every evening for that late night hunger you might just feel when returning from your stroll around downtown ithaca, which is literally right around the corner. Staff is extremely welcoming and friendly and rooms are - of course - spacious and very clean! Staying here will definitely make your stay in ithaca as enjoyable as it can be!

Room Tip: What they now call the library was originally the master's bedroom and is a beautiful very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plesiosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.2 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#12 of 22 in Ithaca
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#16 of 22 in Ithaca
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Henry Miller Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Henry Miller Inn

Address: 303 N Aurora St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4201
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: $155 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning William Henry Miller Inn is located in the heart of downtown Ithaca. Built by Cornell University's first architecture student, the details are stunning--chestnut woodwork, Tiffany stained glass, original shutters. Our full breakfast features all homemade breads, homemade English Muffins and bagels accompanied by homemade jams. Our evening dessert buffet is the perfect way to end the day. We are happy to accommodate dietary requests. Within walking distance of fifty restaurants, Cornell University, Cascadilla Gorge and just a short hop to Ithaca College, we are really central to everything. Providing concierge service and a business center, parking is right on site. Parking and wireless are included in the rate. Proud to be a member of Select Registry and Lynnette Scofield received the Innkeeper of the Year Award by Select Registry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing