We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”
Review of AGAVA Restaurant

AGAVA Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
AGAVA Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The AGAVA restaurant concept is rooted in local, farm-to-table cuisine, seasonal menu and a Southwest-Inspired palette. One of the central design and functional elements is a wood-fired oven with eating bar in the main dining space, serving up flatbreads and a range of other fire-roasted cuisine. Our bar is destination of its own; from the unique spirits & cocktails, to an environment and space you have to see for yourself. We feature one of the most unique interior spaces in the central NY region, drawing from both southwestern design elements like “latillas’ as well as local historical features like reclaimed barn wood. We’re based in the old East Ithaca Train Station, commissioned in 1876 by Ezra Cornell.
Lansing, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I went with a friend for lunch, and it took a while for the food to get delivered. When it was delivered, the server didn't know what we ordered, or what dishes he was bringing to us. The food was decent. The ambiance is alright, different which is not so bad. The service definitely needs some work. I realize that they just opened, so I will go back and try it again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LansingFoodie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    126
    41
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Had a wonderful brunch at Agava - loved the eggs cooked with pork! came with soft taco, black beans and home fries Yum!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GorgesIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food at a great price! Fresh and exciting menu.”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We first tried Agava for a "date night" without the kids and had a wonderful meal. The fire-grilled flatbreads are simply amazing and the taco choices are diverse and delicious. We tried the homemade guacamole, escabeche and margaritas, and they were all excellent. We were so impressed that we came back the next week for an early dinner with the kids (ages 8 & 8). They have a large children's menu with very reasonable prices. Our kids loved it and want to go back soon. Thanks for creating an exciting and tantalizing new place for us to enjoy! We'll be back, with friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ncs1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great new restaurant in Ithaca”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I've been to Agava twice now. The atmosphere is really wonderful -feels like a big city spot. Outdoor patio is great. I had fish both times and it was excellent. I had the special (Tile fish) one night with local asparagus and it was so so good. The roast chicken and fish tacos are also excellent. Also, the maragitas were great- I had the Zing. And service was excellent. Give it a try!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Southwest style”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a pleasant evening here, out on the deck. Nice decor, they've done a good job of renovating the space. The place was packed, luckily we had reservations, as some friends were turned away. As to the food: it was mixed. I had the flat bread and it was fine, nothing to write home about, and a cold soup of the day. Others in our party had the salmon (good) and the chili rellanos (not very good- wet and soupy), and the pork tacos (good). We also had a few small plates that were OK (and not surprisingly, small), and desserts, which were less than memorable. The wait staff was generally friendly and helpful as they tried to deal with all the people. Because this place is so new I'd give it a few months to settle in and work out the kinks in the menu and we'll probably give it another try, maybe for brunch. It is a welcome addition to a part of town where dining options are few and far between.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AGAVA Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to AGAVA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing