We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Kids Love This Place

If you have children bring them here. They can learn a lot and see many interesting exhibits. The... read more

Reviewed June 20, 2018
Jo Z
Interesting Nture Site

Cayuga Nature Center continually improves its spaces and its programs. A highlight for visitors... read more

Reviewed July 16, 2017
LeGrace B
,
Ithaca, New York
Read all 62 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Ithaca
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
21
18
14
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
18
14
6
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2018

If you have children bring them here. They can learn a lot and see many interesting exhibits. The grounds are lovely and there are places to walk in the woods.

Thank Jo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

The tree house is certainly the star of the show here. We climbed to the top and told stories as if we were kids. It’s a real treat.

Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Remodeling and updating displays. Beautiful safe hike with birds and animals to see. Short walk brings you to a five story tree house that is a safe playground to explore.

Thank nreidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018

We are nature lovers and visited at the request of our college student. It was way more than expected. The displays were well done. The grounds beautiful. The rescued animals well cared for. The treetops Tree house gorgeous. Highly recommended.

Thank toastboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

This educational nature center includes mounted local animals, good displays but geared to children more than adults. A few live animals but don't expect to photograph them as there are wire barriers. Displays on environment also live invasive fish.

Thank RMPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

First let me say, I used to love this place! My wife and I got married here, for goodness sake. Each year we come back for a visit, and each year it seems like it's a little more of a business and less of a nature center. I was disheartened to see a lot of the older exhibits being neglected, while new buildings and fences are being erected.

They now have a fence on both sides of the lodge, so it appears you cannot enter the area behind it. However, the website states that the grounds are open to the public dawn till dusk. Fortunately, We found that the gates weren't locked.

It's still worth visiting, but it is definitely losing the inviting hometown nature center appeal it once had.

1  Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia L, Public Relations Manager at Cayuga Nature Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Dear Josh, Thank you for sharing your fond memories of the nature center. As you know, the Cayuga Nature Center merged with PRI in 2012. The goal of this merger was to expand both entities’ capabilities to offer natural history education to the public, and to allow the continued care of the property. We want to be able to provide a quality educational experience every time you visit, and that goal is an ongoing work-in-progress for us. Although we can’t do everything all at once, since the merger our non-profit has worked very hard at creating and pursuing a long term plan for stewardship while working to increase outreach partnerships with schools and other organizations in the area. For example, local high school and college students conduct research at our facilities; over 40 non-releasable live animals now have their home at the Nature Center; and a number of new exhibits feature native species, local forest ecology, and climate change. We’ve increased ADA accessibility in the Lodge, and added a pavilion for Summer Camp and other events. Public education programs, Kids Discover the Trail, and our well-loved Summer Camp continue as important community resources--as they have for many years. We ask for modest admission fees to the Lodge and outdoor areas in order to support these efforts, and to maintain the historic Lodge. New gates were installed to increase safety for the outdoor animals. While we have many new exhibits, we also strive to keep the older ones fresh, and if you see something that needs our attention, please let us know. As always, your opinions are important to us. We appreciate your feedback, and we invite you to return and visit the Lodge to see the improvements for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Cayuga Nature Center continually improves its spaces and its programs. A highlight for visitors young and old is the tree house.

Thank LeGrace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017

I loved getting to see all the wildlife here--the turtles, the birds, and of course the famous fox--but what puts it over the top is the GIGANTIC TREE FORT in the back! The thing is like six stories tall and so much fun to clamber through, even if you're a grown-up. Well worth the $5 admission for that plus the animals. (Plus there's a bunch of Pokestops around here, and a gym.)

1  Thank chairduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Looking for Denison Falls, stopped at Nature Center to inquire location, it was there. The girl at the admissions desk was friendly, told us they were closing in 10 minutes however, we could wander the grounds after the building closed. Since we drove 25 miles to specifically view these falls, we decided to stay. We were told there is a $5 admission fee per person because the falls is on the property. Ok, we paid the fee and was told it was a 5 minute walk. We arrive and discover the falls was bone dry, not even a trickle of water. We felt ripped off and very disappointed.

2  Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marissa Z, Manager at Cayuga Nature Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Hello Darlene,

Unfortunately, this year's drought has taken a toll on many local waterfalls and gorges, including Denison Falls and streams located on our property. The dry conditions have caused many falls to go dry, and we are sad to hear that you were disappointed. However, we hope that the rest of your time at the Nature Center was pleasant! Please contact me at Zuckerman@priweb.org if you have any suggestions or recommendations based on the rest of your experience.

Sincerely,
Marissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016

The place is not well kept at all. Weeds everywhere. Mounted animals from 50 years ago falling apart. Butterfly gardens that looked awful. A turkey buzzard, fox, and a hawk was all that they had as animals outside. A tree house for kids. Not much to offer.
Was there Sept 12th. Not worth the stop.

Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marissa Z, Marketing Manager at Cayuga Nature Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Hello Dennis,

We truly value the opinions of our visitors and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly to discuss your experience and how we can improve. Please reach out to me at any time, my email is zuckerman@priweb.org.

Best regards,
-Marissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews