We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed at the Courtyard in Ithaca for a weekend getaway. The hotel is located in an office park, so if you stay on a weekend, it seemed to be nice and quiet. It's not a far drive from town, Cornell, restaurants, grocery store, mall, or any of the state parks/waterfalls.

The front desk staff was not all that friendly for Marriott employees. We had a nice room with a king size bed and a rollaway. I asked for extra towels and they brought them up right away with extra soap and shampoo as well, which was a nice added touch. The bed was super comfy! The TV was flat screen and was nice. The room was super clean.

We used the hotel pool and hot tub. The pool is small, but big enough for the size of the hotel and the number of people who used it (like 2 or 3). The hot tub was great and fit about 4 people.

The only thing bad about this hotel was breakfast. They charge you $10 for basically nothing. It was the same as the breakfast you get for free at the Residence Inn. Had I known that, I would have eaten breakfast off the property and would recommend doing so.

I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others, just eat breakfast elsewhere.

  • Liked — Very clean and comfy Marriott bed
  • Disliked — Breakfast was terrible
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechWriterCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    105
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
97
37
20
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chittenango, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Located right across from the Ithaca airport, and in the Cornell business park, this is a great hotel. Large comfortable rooms, and great location. They also have a dining room serving breakfast & lunch, although I didnt stay and have any of the food. If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay, choose here.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bkafrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

I called this hotel the day before to book a room for a Friday night, but was told it was sold out. I tried several other hotels in the area (Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn), but they were also booked. But when I went on the hotel's website, it said there were rooms available, so I booked it. Not sure what that's all about.

It was fairly expensive for central NY ($179/night plus tax). I had a king room. Check-in was painless and speedy, but not overly friendly. I like that the entire hotel is non-smoking. My room was very clean and spacious. There is a nice desk and work area, a coffee table, couch, and dresser. The king bed was very comfortable and luxurious- very nice comforter and pillows. The bathroom was sparkling clean as well. Toiletries are nice (Davies Gate) but towels could be a little bigger.

There is a new Japanese restaurant called Samurai that's in the commons, and they have free delivery. I had sushi delivered to the room for dinner. It was good, but not great. The breakfast is not free here. I would highly recommend going to Wegman's (the local grocery store in Ithaca). It has beautiful produce, baked goods, and ready-made foods. Really a nice grocery store!

Overall, I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel, and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug63366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We enjoyed our stay here just fine. The staff was great to us and our small children. Breakfast was a little pricey, but tit was fresh and good. Pool was nice and we enjoyed it a few times.
Over all great stay and LOTS to see and do in the area. Saw some great waterfalls, and toured a winery.
I would go back in a heartbeat. Beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lagunalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This is a great hotel for families visiting Cornell. It is easy to get to, clean, and the hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They provide maps of the campus and can assist you with anything relating to visiting the campus.

One of the best features of this hotel is the lobby lounge. This large area has two computer set-ups, including one with a printer, that are available at no charge. Also, the lobby lounge is wired so that you can use your laptop. There is a fireplace going and a flat screen tv with couches. There are lots of great seating clusters. The lounge has a refreshment center that is stocked 24/7 with coffees, cocoa, tea. There is a microwave and sink there as well. The area was cleaned continuously while we were there.

Another terrific feature of this hotel is their complimentary shuttle service to Cornell University. They take you over to any building you want and can meet anyone's schedule. They even pick you up quickly. Although we had a car, we took the shuttle and it made our visit SO much easier b/c we didn't have to worry about parking or even finding the building where the campus Tour and Info Session were being held. The driver knew where all of the buildings were on campus and he didn't need a map! He was nice enough to drive us around the campus and point out places of interest. This is the GREATEST service! We will return to this hotel for certain!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, helpful staff, shuttle to campus, lounge area with computers
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was perfect
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank safegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Very nice room, extremely comfortable bed, very good climate control. Unusually pleasant and efficient front desk personnel. Right in the airport area, close enough to the town that it's pretty convenient. However, very poorly laid out bathroom, hard to control stream from showerhead, had to close door completely to use the shower, but the exhaust fan was not up to the job of keeping steam down to a reasonable level. Internet access with ethernet cable, but not wireless. Overall, satisfactory but nothing to make me return.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank braumeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

This hotel is very clean and I enjoyed the hot tub/jacuzzi in the evenings after walking around the Ithaca College campus during the day. This hotel is about 7.5 miles from the Ithaca campus but it is only a 10 minute drive. There is a mall called the Pyramid Mall on Triphammer Rd that is about 2 miles from the property so we did not have to go to the downtown Ithaca area to eat. However we did go downtown because there are quite a few places to eat there and we opted not to eat in a mall. The room was a bit pricey even with AAA Club membership. But it is clean and comfortable. There were two computers in the lobby for online access. The staff was friendly and informative. I would recommend this hotel but it not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chyman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
3.4 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University

Property: Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
Address: 29 Thornwood Dr, Ithaca, NY 14850-1264 (Formerly Courtyard Ithaca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#7 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort and convenience you want while on the road at Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca Airport/University. Our centrally located hotel in Ithaca, New York is close to top destinations, making us ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer spacious guest rooms and guest suites with free Wi-Fi, ergonomic work stations, flat-panel TVs and plush bedding. Our hotel has the amenities you need for an enjoyable stay, such as a relaxing indoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. Dine at The Bistro restaurant here for breakfast, dinner, cocktails and Starbucks coffee. Hold your small events in our meeting room, which is perfectly close to Tompkins Regional Airport (ITH), Cornell and Ithaca Commons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Courtyard Ithaca
Ithaca Marriott
Ithaca Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing