We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at it's best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frogs Way Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This two room B&B is a converted basement in the "Song" Eco-village just outside Ithaca, run by the family that lives upstairs. Both cozy rooms have a great view and get lots of sun. Breakfast was yummy, but self serve (we had the house granola, home-made yogurt, tea, coffee and a local apple juice). The main complaint is that it's a little too cozy. The two rooms share a wall, a smallish bathroom and the tight breakfast nook (situated in the entrance hallway). You wash your dishes in the small sink in the (shared) bathroom. Wooden stairs to basement are treacherous when there's ice. Price is reasonable for the location (end price $98/night/room in Jan 2012).
The EcoVillage is an exerience all on its own (the Rachel Carson Way address pretty much says it all)- stroll the (beautiful) grounds, visit the common houses, talk to the citizens, browse the books in your room. We stumbled in on a big weekend for the Village- the annual talent show and a meeting about the planning of a third Eco-Village on the site. Elan Shapiro (your host) is knowledgable and friendly. Notebooks in the rooms are excellent sources of ideas (in case you haven't done any advance scouting) and Elan keeps at least one up to date local events paper in each room.
If you need locks, privacy or romance, this isn't for you, but if you want quiet, clean, affordable digs that's truly part of the Ithaca experience, consider Frog's Way.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DSAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

Frogs Way is a unique place in a beautiful setting. The entire place combines comfort with a commitment to environmental responsibility. My room was so comfortable with a magnificent view over the valley and the town of Ithaca. During my visit it snowed and the view from my room was exquisite. Eco Village is such an inspiring community of folk dedicated to walking the walk, living out a shared communal commitment to living consciously and responsibly. I loved the nutritious food, the explanations about the values the community upholds, and the precious community they have created. It is so rare to find a bed and breakfast that is so comfortable and also so inspiring. I learned a lot during my stay about how to live more simply and consciously while having a great time.

Room Tip: Both rooms in the B and B were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Frog's Way is a unique and special little spot, tucked into Ithaca's Eco Village. The organic snacks and breakfasts are appreciated and sharing a community meal with other members of Eco Village was a wonderful experience. There is a little pond to swim in, many trails to walk on, an organic farm, and a hot tub to soak away the energy of the day. Sitting in the hot tub, looking at a star studded sky was the perfect ending to a day out and about exploring Eco Village and Ithaca. I enjoyed walking through the different neighborhoods and seeing all of the wonderful gardens in front and in back of each of the houses. Elan Shapiro is warm and friendly and helped me find places to explore that are of interest to me. I will definitely visit Frog's Way again and recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baravi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The eco village at Ithaca is a unique and relaxing environment – perfect for the eco-conscious traveler. You're homemade and wholesome breakfasts will give you the energy you need to explore the beautiful surroundings that Ithaca has to offer. The farm has a wonderful series of trails for afternoon hiking; at night the hot tub makes for a wonderful way to relax. This B&B also boasts a wonderful and extensive library of Earth conscious literature and books about the local surroundings. Elan, the proprietor, is welcoming and a wealth of information on a number of topics including local activities and restaurants, the eco-village, and anything else you may want to know about the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Frog's Way is a great option for anyone looking for a quiet place to stay outside of downtown Ithaca. The surroundings are beautiful and I was greeted with fresh picked grapes and peaches upon arrival- a perfect end to the summer! The owners were warm and welcoming, and provided as many tips and suggestions for places to see as possible. If you have the chance, get to a community dinner. The folks in the neighborhood are just as welcoming and the food is delicious! I would definitely return with friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Frog's Way B&B is a humble paradise, and Elan Shapiro is a genial, helpful guide who will spread before you all that EcoVillage, where Frog's Way is located, and Ithaca have to offer.
I stayed in summer, and swimming in the very clear pond among the reeds was idyllic. Breakfast offered wonderful homemade, local food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aghirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Frog's Way is a little slice of heaven on earth.When vacationing,we always try to put up at places that are a little different, and Frog's Way fit the bill perfectly.

We met with Elan who despite his extremely busy schedule made sure that we were comfortable and explained in detail the places that we could and should see in such a short time ( we just put up for a couple of nights).My wife had her birthday over the weekend and when I had forgotten to pick a candle, Elan also took out a beautiful one from his personal collection .
Thanks Elan!

In the long list of places we need to visit again, Frog's way is pretty much on the top of the list.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shatadru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
4.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#18 of 22 in Ithaca
92 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.5 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western University Inn
2.6 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogs Way Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogs Way Bed and Breakfast

Address: 211 Rachel Carson Way, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: $80 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bright, peaceful, "green" inn has spectacular views, miles of trails, a clear swimmable pond, children’s playgrounds, and hot tub, on 175 acres, 2 miles from downtown Ithaca. It’s part of an inspiring co-housing neighborhood, with a car-free commons, at Ecovillage at Ithaca. Our kitchen is stocked with a healthful breakfast of local, seasonal, homemade organic foods. You can bring and prepare food as well. Our whole house (6 bdr) or parts is available for special occasions. You will come away nurtured and inspired. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing