We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The trails are great!”

Buttermilk Falls State Park
Ranked #3 of 61 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The trails are great!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pay the free, enjoy the great hiking in the park! There are more than four miles of trails. There are cliffs, gorges, hills, and lots of people. It was all great fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel_Puerto_Rico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    181
    41
    17
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moderate difficulty hike”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Permited swimming is boring- other swim holes are bette. If was raining on and off all day so was not too busy. Also went on a Thursday. I wouldn't recommend the weekend if you want a semi quite hike

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Time-to-eat-lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Take the Lower Falls walk to fully appreciate the geology”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our first impression of Buttermilk Falls (one of 4 falls/gorges we visited in the Ithaca region this week) was only so-so, seen from the upper falls parking lot (we had already been to Watkins Glen and Robert Treman State Park). The upper falls view is a good option for people who do not have the mobility to go for a 3/4 mile walk. However, if you can take the 3/4 mile walk along the lower trail (very wide and flat - no hills or steps), I highly recommend it. At the very beginning of the path, you can see a small waterfall (perhaps 10-15' feet high, very pretty). If you continue, you can walk along the creek bed for a while (it's very wide, and dry on one side for the most part) and/or stay on the path, which is shady for the most part this time of year. We saw a number of families, including children, splashing in the creekbed, which was very shallow most of the way (but also very slippery where wet - bring water shoes if you can). The walls of the canyon are very high and there are some really nice rock formations. At the end of the 30 minute walk, you get to a viewing platform perhaps 50' from the falls. You can see the plumes of mist (but are not close enough to feel them) and get a much better sense of the power of the 215' drop. Bring water bottles. Note: No bathrooms on the trail.

If I had to prioritize, I would say that our favorite state park/waterfalls/gorges is Robert Treman, followed by Watkins Glen, Ithaca Falls (5 minute walk from the side of the road in the center of Ithaca - lovely!), Taughannock, then Buttermilk (which would have been awesome, but the water levels are pretty low, and the park ranger told me they have been that way for the last 2 years - perhaps just in June (?).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marvi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful gorge viewed by a semi difficult hike up the gorge”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wear good hiking shoes and experience this wonder of the Finger Lake region. Trail needs a lot of work, so be careful and hold on to the children. To make the trip easier walk down the wooded trail on the other side of the gorge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NBLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GORGE AND FALLS”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The falls are nice to see.

The campground is located on a very steep hill with different levels of camping areas. Somewhat small wooded sites with seemingly all campsites in easy view of others...did not camp here for I prefer a larger private camping spot in a rural area.

Literally uphill from fast food and gas stations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttermilk Falls State Park also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Buttermilk Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing